The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 2: Dr. Hauschka

Posted by: Jordan
And the hunt continues!  Today I’m reviewing Dr. Hauschka’s deodorant in the Fresh scent, which sells for about $23.  I know, ridiculous…if someone had told little 22 year old Jordan, fresh out of college and starting her adult life in San Francisco that she would be ditching her $5 drugstore deodorant for one that’s $23, I would have called you plumb crazy.  Yet I did it a few weeks ago.  I succumbed to the green-glamour that is Dr. Hauschka.  And here’s what I discovered:
The first day I wore this deodorant I thought it was truly amazing.  “I’ve found a winner!  I smell completely unoffensive!”, I shouted to my husband upon arriving home after a full day of wearing it, before making him smell my underarms for himself (he’s hoping I end this Great Deodorant Hunt soon so he can stop being forced to smell my pits).  I spoke too soon.  The second day I wore it, it failed “The Turtleneck Test”.  Now, I find the rigorous “Turtleneck Test” to be a crucial one in finding a deodorant that works for you.  Maybe it’s the warm, insulating fabric being so close to your skin all day, but by the end of the day I was smelling a bit ripe.  I couldn’t wait to throw that malodorous turtleneck in the hamper.  I apologize to any co-worker sitting close to me, or anyone I may have hugged that day.  The third time I wore it, I was giving it the ultimate test of any deodorant: traveling.  I flew from NY to Philly to DC to San Juan.  By the time we eventually got to Puerto Rico 12 hours later, I smelled so crude that the first thing I did when we got to the resort was throw off my cotton tee-shirt and change into a sundress.  It was midnight, and we desperately wanted a nightcap at the hotel bar, but I wasn’t about to go one step further with my armpits smelling so rancid.
Agreed, those were two very tough tests for any deodorant, let alone one that’s completely natural and good for you.  But I have to put my products to the ultimate test for our readers! Today I wore my Dr. Hauschka deodorant trompsing all around Brooklyn and Manhattan, and I’m still smelling pretty good in my opinion.  So, overall I’d recommend this deodorant for someone wanting to try out a new green deodorant.  I’ve read a lot of reviews that rave about this particular green deodorant.  I don’t know, maybe I’m just smellier than those people (wait…a thought just occurred to me…is that why my friends nicknamed me “Dirty D”???  I thought it was those great dancing moves I pull out from time to time).  For me, I’d rate it a 7 out of 10.  We’re getting closer, but I wouldn’t wear this deodorant on a job interview or first date (if I still did those sorts of things).  It’s great for a “hanging out in Brooklyn” sort of day for me, but maybe not for a “dinner with the husband’s boss” sort of day.
And so the Great Deodorant Hunt continues for this product junkie. However, I found a great comprehensive review over on Scent Hive.  Definitely check it out!  Spoiler: one of these deodorants I’m currently trying out as well…and it’s the best I’ve found so far!!!!  Stay tuned…
5 Comments

Filed under Deodorants, Product Reviews

5 responses to “The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 2: Dr. Hauschka

  1. That’s too bad the Dr H Fresh didn’t work so well for you. I found that the Floral is better, for me at least, than the Fresh. Maybe you could exchange it for the Floral? Places like Whole Foods are really good w/ returns.

    Let me know if you ever try the Floral!

    ~Trish

  2. Pingback: The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 3: Lavanila Healthy Deodorant « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

  3. Pingback: The Great Deodorant Hunt of 2010 – A Year in Review | Product Junkies Rehab

  4. Pingback: The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 9.1 – Bubble and Bee Deodorant Spray | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

