Haircare Roundup: Melvita and Kae

Posted by:  Jordan

Emily recently touched on our new love of the French Eco-Cert beauty line that just launched in the US, Melvita.  We both have been testing out several of their products recently and the one I’d like to share with you today is their Frequent Wash Shampoo.  According to several beauty magazines, stunning French beauty, Marion Cotillard, is a huge fan of Melvita products, and honestly if it makes my hair look anything like hers, I’m game to try it!  Combine the fact that it’s 99.42% natural and almost 20% of those natural products from organic farming–pass that bottle of shampoo on over here, please!  This shampoo has a gentle, pleasing citrus scent which comes from lavender flower water and essential oils of  peppermint, lemon myrtle and grapefruit.  Honey and arnica round out the list of effective, natural ingredients.  Now, here’s where you might start to raise your eyebrows in skepticism at my review of this shampoo: I swear it makes my hair dry faster!  I have no idea why, but it really does seem to cut my blow drying time in half!  I even had my friend Lora try it out when she was visiting and she agreed that it did seem to make her thick hair dry faster too!  Whatever it is, even if it’s just my mind playing tricks on me, I’m a fan of this shampoo!  This shampoo retails for about $14, so it’s not a complete splurge but it is more than your chemical soup drugstore brands.

The other shampoo I’d like to discuss is from another French brand, Kaé.  This shampoo boasts the moisturizing wonder-oil, organic Argan oil from Morocco.  While this product is definitely more of a splurge at $38, it’s worth it!  I’m obsessed with how this shampoo makes my hair so shiny and full of volume.  Because of it’s higher price point I try to save it for “good hair day worthy” days.  Similar to Melvita, it’s 98.99% natural and 18.5% organic.  The scent is not typical–it’s a little spicy, with essential oils of rosewood and ylang-ylang.  But it’s not a lingering scent, so if you’re not a fan of it, it’s not something that you’re going to smell throughout the day.  If your hair is lacking a little luster after summer’s harsh sun, pool and beach time, I urge you to give this shampoo a shot.

While we’re on the topic of Kaé’s products which are filled to the brim with beneficial Argan oil, I was also lucky enough to get to try their 100% natural (and 61% organic!) Nutri-Radiance Hair Serum.  This fortifying serum is admittedly costly at $45 for 1 ounce, but I have been using several times a week for about a month, and have barely made a dent in it.  This stuff will last you forever, especially if you’re like me and have fine hair–I can’t use more than 1 drop.  But that 1 drop definitely makes a big difference in the softness and manageability of my fine-hair flyaways.  And since it replaces your conditioner, in the long run it’s probably cheaper because you use much less.  There is a whole list of nurturing oils in this serum: olive oil, sunflower oil, Argan oil, and monoi oil.  Just be sure not to get too excited when applying it: a tiny bit goes a long way and if you overdo it, like I have made the mistake of doing, it’s a greasy bun sort of day.  But what a great deep-conditioning treatment I got on that slicked-back bun day!  Lastly, it may seem obvious, but it’s worth mentioning: avoid using the serum on your scalp if you’re trying avoid the greased ponytail look.

3 Comments

Filed under Hair Care, Product Reviews

3 responses to “Haircare Roundup: Melvita and Kae

  1. Pingback: Shampoo Roundup | Product Junkies Rehab

  2. Pingback: Melvita Conditioning Balm

  3. Pingback: Review of Melvita Cleansing Foam | Scent Hive

Leave a Reply

