Must-Have for Spring: Jane Iredale’s Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain

Posted by:  Jordan

Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain

Obviously the huge perk of writing this blog is the chance to review new natural  beauty products.  But when we get to do that without buying the product, that’s enough to make me and Emily light-headed!  Now, sometimes companies send us items to sample that are good…and just that.  So it’s hard to go gaga all over them or have much to say at all, really.  This is NOT one of those items.

The Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain by Jane Iredale is my newest “must-never-be-without-it-again, EVER” product.  As soon as I received it I couldn’t wait to tear it open and try it out to see how the self-adjusting pink would look on my skin.  On me it’s a bright, happy strawberry-ish pink.  On Emily, it adjusted to her undertones to reveal a slightly darker pink.  We both fell immediately in love with our personalized colors!  Pink is such a cheery color for any time of year, but especially welcome as we start to anticipate Spring.

Unlike most lip stains this one won’t dry out your lips at all.  In fact, it’s super moisturizing and, since it’s a stain, very long-lasting.  I had one question with one of the ingredients in the list, Red 21,  so I emailed their customer service reps who responded immediately with a very informative, helpful reply:

The ingredient you are referring to, I believe, is the Red 21 (CI45380). Red 21 is a bromine salt that contains no petroleum derivatives and no heavy metals.  Free bromine does not occur in nature, but occurs as colorless soluble crystalline mineral salts, analogous to table salt.  It is free of all 27 allergens listed by the European Union and is approved in every country in the world.  It has passed all safety tests.  It is activated by the lips’ natural PH (acid balance) to create a unique shade of pink, that will vary with each user’s personal body chemistry and it is gluten free.

I recently returned from our annual trip to Puerto Rico and I used this dual-purpose stain every day, along with my Eminence tinted moisturizer, and some mascara.  It was all I needed to look put together for the day and it took less than 5 minutes to do my makeup each morning.  Clearly, a product that’s pretty, natural, and shortens my makeup routine deserves a permanent place in my cosmetic bag.  Now I just think I need another for my handbag!

Thank you to Jane Iredale for sending us this amazing product to test out.  We’re forever fans!  Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain can be purchased on Beauty.com for $25.  Full ingredient list:

Triisostearyl Citrate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Oil, Beeswax, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Wax, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid. May Contain: Red 21 (CI 45380) (Aka 223)

7 Comments

Filed under Blush, Lipstick/gloss/balm

7 responses to “Must-Have for Spring: Jane Iredale’s Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain

  1. Pam Barrett

    Well I better go out and get some!!!!!!!!!!! Your Mom

  2. It certainly has a lot of moisturizing ingredients. And it’s long lasting? This is exciting. Does it stay on your lips even after eating or drinking something?

    • Jordan

      It really is! As a source of reference, we have friends over right now for some Sunday afternoon drinks and I applied one coat (you can layer for more intensity) at 1pm. It’s now 4pm and I can still see the color after drinking some beers and eating snacks for the past 3 hours.

  3. Kelly

    Thanks for the review – I have become a big fan of Jane Iredale BB cream. Now I know I to try this lip and cheek stain.

  4. I have bought it and I really liked its glow . This is really comfortable to me and yes I can confirm the things those have been written in the review.

  5. This looks terrific, I am definitely checking it out next time I am at Pharmaca!

  6. Pingback: Ask a Junkie | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

