PJR Outing: Jane Iredale “Magic Hour” Launch + Giveaway!

Posted by:  Jordan

Jane Iredale The Golden Hour collection

Last week Emily and I had a fun night out when we attended the launch of Jane Iredale’s new Spring makeup collection honoring their 20th anniversary, the Magic Hour, which refers to the golden  hour of light just before sunset.  Think warm, shimmery colors–just what you’re craving this time of year!  The event was a garden party theme, complete with lawn games, makeovers, Spring-y hors d’oeuvres and cocktails, and beautiful flowers and glowy candlelight everywhere.

Jane Iredale Magic Hour event

The new collection, available in early March, is out-of-this-world stunning.  I’m honestly in love with all of the products, but the new Jelly Jar inky gel eyeliners really stand out as something special.  They’re completely natural and even STAY PUT on my lids, which is something I’ve been searching for in a liner for a long time.  The new angle eyeliner brush makes applying the nearly waterproof gel eyeliners a breeze.  The In Touch cream-to-powder highlighter in the beautiful new golden coral color known as Comfort is gorgeous on cheekbones and just under the eyebrows–it’s glowy rather than glittery, so you won’t look like a disco ball by using it.  Plus, it smells faintly of honeysuckle.  Unexpectedly, I’m really digging the new Lip Fixation stain & gloss.  I didn’t think I’d be such a fan of this product, as I’m usually turned off by the moisture-sucking texture of lip stains (it usually reminds me of applying pretzel dust to my lips).  And, I really can’t stand sparkles in my lip gloss.  Combine the two, and I just didn’t expect to like these lip products one bit.  But, to my surprise, I’m using them every day and loving how they look and feel!  The stains stay put but don’t make my lips feel dry.  The gloss is on the tackier side of glosses, but doesn’t feel gluey.  It just feels like the gloss is going to stay on longer than if it were the watery feel that some glosses have.  The two new stain colors are gorgeous: Compulsion is a pretty berryish mauve and Craze is a perky, bright coral.  I like to mix the two stains together to create a coral-y berry color.  Sounds ugly, but unless my bathroom lighting is really off, I think it looks nice.  Correct me if the next time you see me and my coral-berry stained lips look totally unflattering.  I haven’t used the eyeshadows much yet but here’s what Emily had to say about them:  “Appropriately named Golden Girl, these are the most classic, classy eye shades, ever. I often avoid eye compacts or palettes because they always include some juvenile blue or green I have no use for, but these three shades are mature without being the least bit boring. They are rich and lush and flattering on everyone I can possibly imagine using them. If you’re hesitant about eye shadows, this would be a great starter set. If you’re already a big eye shadow user, this will be your new go-to.”

February 2014 101

Here are some (surprisingly entertaining) video tutorials on how to use the new collection to achieve three different looks:

Edgy Evening Makeup

Pretty and Polished

Romantic Makeup

February 2014 102

Emily getting her makeup done with products from the new Magic Hour collection

Having fun in the photobooth after getting our makeup done

Having fun in the photobooth after getting our makeup done

PJR Jordan and Emily Jane Iredale garden party

Jane Iredale Starter Kit

But we’re not going to just make you jealous by ooh’ing and ahh’ing over all the great new products we got to try out.  We want to share the love!  If you’re not already a fan, we’d like to introduce you to this wonderful makeup line by giving one reader a Jane Iredale Starter Kit (worth $55) in your choice of 5 colors.  Included in the perfect little cosmetic travel case are:

  • Smooth Affair–a luminizing primer that nourishes and prepares your skin: it brightens and moisturizes while makeup goes on more easily and lasts longer.
  • Multi-tasking Amazing Base and PurePressed Base, which have earned The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Seal of Recommendation, each provide four important functions in one: foundation, concealer, sunscreen and active skin care benefits.
  • POMMISST hydrates, conditions and protects your skin. Use it to set your base and plump the skin.

To enter, simply leave a comment below by Sunday, March 2nd at midnight EST.  Winner will be announced on Monday, March 3rd.  Continental US residents only, please.  For bonus entries do one or all of the following and let us know your FB or Twitter name in the comments:

*like Product Junkies Rehab on Facebook

*like Jane Iredale on Facebook

*Follow PJR on Twitter

*Follow Jane Iredale on Twitter

22 Comments

Filed under Eyeliner, Giveaways/Freebies/Discounts, Lipstick/gloss/balm, Product Reviews

22 responses to “PJR Outing: Jane Iredale “Magic Hour” Launch + Giveaway!

  1. Jamie

    oooh! I want to try this! Ps..the pics from the photo booth are ADORABLE!

  2. I want to win,
    I follow Product Junkies Rehab on FB. My FB name is Heglaé Malheiros Maia

  3. Michelle Northcutt

    I definitely NEED that amazing base for my wedding day!

  4. Pamela Barrett

    Cute picture of you both!!!! I could use some new products for SPRING!

  5. Kathleen

    Looks like a fun evening! I liked Jane Iredale on fb

  6. Susan

    I’ve heard wonderful things about Jane Iredale products and would love the chance to try them! Great pictures of the two of you! Just liked you on FB…Susan Soifer Nestor. :)

  7. Gloria

    ooh I am looking for a natural foundation …

  8. Aimee Miter

    I have been wanting to try JI products! Love the pics! FB is Aimed Miter

  9. Gina S

    Still have been wanting to try jane iredale! Thanks so much for doing this awesome giveaway :) love ze blog very much

  10. Brady

    Sounds awesome! Jordan, you have such a way with describing beauty products. You make me want to try all of them.

  11. I wish I lived in a city that sold Jane Iredale products. I would love this starter kit!

  12. Great photos of you, lovelies! And another fun giveaway, count me in! xo Hallie

  13. Looks like it was a fun time and looking forward to the new releases! Facebook: Jade Huang, Twitter: @nephriblog

  14. Thanks for having this giveaway!

  15. jessica

    You guys look great, would love to try out this makeup.

  16. Jaime

    Y’all are so cute! LOVE Jane Iredale and have sworn by it since college (too long ago!)!

  17. Amy B

    I’d love a chance to try this!

  18. Kim

    I would love to win this!

  19. Lori

    A little JI spring shimmer after a long winter. Sounds divine!

  20. Courtney Cooper

    I’m so proud of my cousin, Miss Jordan Scott, for doing this blog with her friend, Emily…I think she may have missed her calling as a reviewer. ..of anything, because she would be amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

