Beauty Tip: Natural Blemish Relief

Posted by: Jordan
 
I treated myself to an all-natural facial back in November and, as usual, I got several lectures (sun exposure when I was younger, picking at whiteheads, how I need to drink more water and less wine, etc.)  Why is it, that whenever I get a facial, I end up feeling like I’m a horrible parent to my helpless skin?  Anyway, not the point of this post.  The point is, the esthetician gave me a great natural beauty remedy for breakouts while she was mercilessly doing my extractions.  When you first start to see or feel a blemish about to emerge, cut an organic frozen red grape in half (she suggested always having these stored in your freezer for emergencies–also a great snack!).  Put the frozen grape half on your breakout for as long as you can stand (beware, if you have a zit on your forehead, the frozen grape can give you a quick but painful brain freeze!).  The cold temperature will help with swelling and the antioxidants in the red grape are great for your skin. 
 
 
She told me to never use a topical acne cream because I don’t have acne.  Apparently, sporadic zits are not the same as acne; therefore, you can’t treat them the same way.  She said when I get a blemish, it’s because of something happening within your body (hormonal changes, diet, stress, etc), not on your skin.  So treating the skin topically isn’t doing anything for the zit other than making it more dry and irritated.  If you’re anything like me, this is a hard habit to break!  Since i was a teenager I’ve always reached for the zit cream to put on any breakout, and I applied liberally!  More often than not, it would just make matters worse by making the surrounding skin dry, red, and flaky.  So I can sort of see the luminous-skinned esthetician’s point.
 
I’ve tried this trick twice now, and in both cases, the blemish was noticeably smaller and less red–without all the dry, red, flaky skin!  Now, I don’t know if this is a miracle cure (and please don’t ruin my delusions–I naively do still believe in miracle cures), but it’s certainly close enough to a miracle in my two test trials.  Try it out for yourself and let me know if it works for you!  It doesn’t cost much, it’s fairly painless (minus the brain freeze), and it’s guaranteed not to irritate your skin, so what do you have to lose?
UPDATE:  My dear friend, Mita, found this crushed grape mask on Bella Sugar.  I want to give a try this weekend when i’m homebound due to the FREEZING weather here in NY.  Thanks for sharing this with us, Mita!
2 Comments

Filed under Acne treatments, Natural Beauty Tips

2 responses to “Beauty Tip: Natural Blemish Relief

  1. Sounds great – I use an ice cube in the same way and it works pretty well. However, infinitely more chic to be using a frozen grape.

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: Mishaps and Miracles Episode 1 – Whiteheads, Blackheads, and Zits Oh My! « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

Leave a Reply

