Facial Exfoliators

Posted by: Jordan

A couple friends have asked for some reviews of good facial exfoliators.  I’ve tried a couple recently that I really enjoy, but when it comes to exfoliators, I personally believe that you can create just as good of one at home, with products you have on hand.  So, here are a couple reviews of products you can purchase, as well as one you can easily make at home.

The first product I’m reviewing today is the Pineapple Facial Scrub from the truly awesome company, 100% Pure.  As the name suggests, all of their products are 100% natural.  Which takes a lot of the confusing guesswork out of trying to read labels to see if some synthetic chemical is potentially dangerous.  This scrub, a birthday gift from my ever thoughtful mom, is very gentle and smells just like summer.  It gets the job done without irritating my skin.  I also noticed on their website that they have a carrot scrub, which sounds equally delightful.  Both sell for about $18.  Their products are sold on their website, but perhaps even more conveniently, also on on Beauty.com, which is currently running a fantastic special until July 24, 2010.  With every $20 purchase from 100% pure, you get a free caffeine eye cream!  It’s very tempting for this product junkie not to go purchase something immediately.  (As a side note, 100% pure is based in Oakland, CA and they’re hiring!  Can someone out in the bay area please apply to this job?? What a cool company to work for!)

My second facial exfoliator to review today is a two-in-one product called Suki Exfoliating Lemongrass Cleanser.  It’s an exfoliator, but it’s also a foaming cleanser.  How brilliant is that?  It’s a phenomenal product and the scent is divine. I’ve been obsessed with lemongrass scents ever since I had an incredible massage on my honeymoon in St. Lucia; the Balinese women who owned the spa made all of their own massage oils and you got to smell all of them and choose the one you wanted for your treatment.  The lemongrass one was out of this world and the scent lingered on my body even after showering.  So, ever since my honeymoon I’ve been a bit of a sucker for anything lemongrass.  This product is a tad more expensive at around $30, but I don’t think it’s overpriced for what it is.  This exfoliator is also 100% natural and feels charmingly elegant in my medicine cabinet.  What more could I ask for in a product?  It’s sold on Suki’s website, but I bought mine at Whole Foods.

Finally, a DIY scrub that is so easy and inexpensive, it’s worth a shot to see if you like it.  I found this recipe in a fun book I have called “Return to Beauty” (kind of sounds like an Enya song, doesn’t it?).  It’s full of inventive homemade skincare recipes that are, for the most part, really easy to make with ingredients you can find at your local produce market.  This facial scrub, ideal for dry wintertime skin, was the easiest I found in the book. 

1 Teaspoon Sugar

1 Tablespoon of honey

1 Tablespoon of sparkling mineral water

Now, when I made this scrub I found that the tablespoon of the sparkling mineral water was way too much liquid for the scrub.  I like a scrub to be kind of thick so it stays in place when I’m massaging it into my face, and the water made it just slip through my fingertips and run down the drain.  So I tried it again with just a teaspoon of the mineral water.  While this does work a bit better, I’m still unsure why I need to add any mineral water at all.  I think I would just as easily prefer simply honey and sugar.  But test it out for yourself and let me know your thoughts.

1 Comment

Filed under DIY Beauty, Exfoliators, Product Reviews

One response to “Facial Exfoliators

  1. Pingback: Dr. Bronner’s Organic Lemongrass Lime Shaving Gel « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

Leave a Reply

