Have / Love / Want

Posted by: Emily

The past few weeks have been some of the busiest of my life, but that has not stopped me from trying out some new products! In fact, I have so many samples to try that I have to pace myself– hard to tell if something new is working if you don’t give it enough time or use too many new things at once!

In order to share with you some of my findings, I will be doing a have/love/want column, so that (you guessed it!) I can tell you some new products I’m currently using, some things I’m loving, and dish about the stuff I’m just dying to try out!

Have:

I’ve been using Dr. Haushka’s Cleansing Cream. I was lucky enough to get a deluxe sample of this product in a giveaway I won from our friends at the fantastic blog Scent Hive, and I was so excited to try it. And then… well…

It feels absolutely sacrilegious to say anything less than wonderful about our beloved Dr. H, but I don’t love it. I certainly don’t hate it. I just think it’s expensive! Most of Dr. Haushka’s line is pricey, but I usually think the ones I sample are worth it.

This one is fine, but I think the name is misleading: it’s an exfoliant more than a straight-up cleanser, and not particularly creamy. The directions say to apply it in a “rolling and pressing” motion. What the heck does that mean? I don’t know– I just massaged it into my skin for a minute or so, and I guess it did its job, but I wasn’t blown away.

Love:

Ever since I learned how many popular perfumes contain toxic chemicals, I have been going around scentless. I have to admit, I’ve felt a little naked the past few months! So when Jordan introduced me to Lavanila Healthy Deodorant, I fell madly in love with their Vanilla Lavender fragrance. I never thought I’d like that scent combo, but it’s magical! And while the jury’s still out for me as to whether the deodorant will hold up to my jogging and stress-filled days or not,  Lavanila Healthy Fragrance (I got a ton of samples made at Sephora!!) is my new obsession.

I do love the Vanilla Lavender most, but am also enjoying the Vanilla Grapefruit (another combination I’d never have thought I’d like!) and the Vanilla Blossom. I want to try out the Vanilla Passion Fruit and Vanilla Spice! And then I have to make a decision and buy one already! Thanks, Sephora, for being so awesome about making perfume samples!

Want:

Another thing I’ve been going without since starting this toxin-free lifestyle is nail polish. Oh, how I miss it! My toes are NOT pretty– daily work outs are hard on my feet, and the blisters, calluses, bruises, and smashed toe-nails could really use some masking by a cheerful red varnish. And now that it’s going warmer in New York (finally!) and I want to start wearing open-toed shoes, I am eager to try Zoya nail polish!

I first read about it in this post on The Green Beauty Guide, where Julie Gabriel wrote this about the all-natural, toluene-free, formaldehyde-free polish: “ZOYA polishes also seem to be completely pregnancy-friendly (although, for the sake of it, I’d recommend not to paint your nails at all while with a bump, but if you really must do it, do it with ZOYA).”  That’s high praise, since we all know that pregnant women should be especially careful of toxins in beauty products, and so if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me!

I bought a beautiful red called Janice and a pretty pale pink called Abigail (shout-out to my wonderful cousin Abigail!). I can’t wait to try them both– I will definitely post about the polish as soon as I have the chance to wear it around for a week or so, so that I can let you all know how it goes on and how it wears over time!

Post in the comments and tell us what you’re using, wanting, and loving!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Have / Love / Want

  1. Alyssa

    Lovely idea!! can’t wait to see more of these!

  2. actorsdiet

    thank you for the honest review re: dr. haushka. have heard so many insanely good things but can’t justify the price. unless i’m going to literally walk down the street turning heads and glowing, it ain’t worth it to me!

  3. Pingback: Sweet Lily Natural Nail Spa and Zoya Nail Polish « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

Leave a Reply

