Savannah Bee Company Beeswax Lip Tint

Posted by:  Jordan

As soon as the weather starts turning to Spring, as it has been here in New York recently, my husband and I love to spend a sunny afternoon exploring Red Hook, an entrepreneurial/warehousey neighborhood along the waterfront in Brooklyn.  It’s not always the most scenic neighborhood, although there are some breathtaking views down by the water, but we always have an enjoyable afternoon getting to know that unique neighborhood a bit more intimately.  Last weekend we took a Sunday stroll down Van Brunt Street and I made a few delightful experiences in terms of natural beauty!  The first discovery was at a little clothing boutique called Red Lipstick where I’ve bought a few wardrobe enhancers in the past.  But last weekend I noticed some natural lip balms from the Savannah Bee Company.  As I’ve mentioned before, I really think there’s a big ole Southern lady hiding inside of me.  So any beauty product that says “all natural” alongside “Savannah”–which is in my mind the Paris of the South–is sure to find a way into my shopping bag.  At Red Lipstick they had 3 varieties of the tinted lip balm: Honey (colorless), Peach (a pale peach color, obviously), and Blackberry, which is what I ended up buying.  It’s hard to describe the color because I want to say it’s purplish, but that sounds either too Wet ‘n Wild or too Goth.  It’s a very sheer color, and the closest color I can come up with to describe it is mauve.  Which if I were reading this description, I’d keep on walking, but I swear it’s a truly flattering color!  Who knew mauve could be a pretty, Springy color?  I asked my friend Jamie what she would call the color and she termed it “plumberry.”  Maybe that’s more marketable?  Whatever you want to call the color, it’s my newest obsession in tinted balms (which is my new favorite lip product…it’s like the lazy girl’s lipgloss).  The texture is so creamy and smooth that I find myself digging it out of my purse so often that I think I’m going to be needing a replacement soon.  Luckily, at $5 a pop it won’t break the bank.  Oh, and I can’t forget to mention the smell/taste–it’s just like blackberry ice cream!!!  Sweet and summery, and it just makes the whole experience all the more wonderful.  Unfortunately, other than the Red Hook boutique I found this balm, it’s a bit hard to find elsewhere.  I have only been able to find it online on Amazon.  Oddly, they don’t carry it on the Savannah Bee Company’s website.  They do have a shimmery blackberry tinted balm, but at 30 years old, I try to avoid shimmer on my lips these days.  I really hope they’re not replacing this creamy Blackberry tinted balm with the shimmery tinted balm. So if you’re in the Brooklyn area I definitely recommend stopping in at Red Lipstick and picking up one of these fantastic little treasures, in case they’re discontinuing this version!

 The other discovery I made in Red Hood was Fairway Market, which is of course not a new discovery to us, but their organic beauty section was a revelation to me!!  They don’t really have any new and exciting brands–their selection is pretty standard, but their prices are definitely noteworthy.  I bought some essential oils on sale and a tube of Weleda Iris night cream for $10 off the normal price!!!!  It was all I could do not to buy 20 things with their pricing!  I don’t know how they do it, but their discounts on their natural beauty products are something to behold.  Stay tuned for my detailed review of the Weleda Iris Night Cream.  Talk about Spring in a bottle–this stuff is just shouting “Winter is OVER!”  Happy Spring, everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Savannah Bee Company Beeswax Lip Tint

  1. Pingback: Are beeswax candles safe to burn around caged loved birds? | Bees Wax Candles

  2. Pingback: Savannah Bee Company Beeswax Lip Tint in Peach « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

  3. Pingback: Lipstick for the Lazy | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

