Sibu Beauty

Posted by:  Jordan

I’ve mentioned it before…I have a slight obsession with giveaways.  I compulsively enter each and every one I see!  People are always telling me how “lucky” I am because I win giveaways sometimes, but the truth is, I’m addicted to entering so many of them, so of course I’m going to win one every so often!  The products I’m about to review were a result of seeing a contest mentioned on Twitter and going to the blog, My Beauty Bunny, which I had never visited before, but am thankful the Twitter twist of fate intervened.  It’s a great natural/cruelty-free beauty blog!  Anyway, on to my winnings…

I won a very generous set of beauty products from Sibu Beauty.  Sibu is a company based in the US, but doing business in the Himalayas by harvesting (free-trade, of course)  the new “it girl” of the antioxidant-rich superfoods: the Sea Buckthorn Berry.  Every year or so you hear about the hottest new fruit that will work miracles on your skin, hair, heart, waistline, etc.  A few years ago it was the Pomegranate, then the Goji Berry, followed by the Acai Berry, then we went back to basics with the old-school Blueberry.  Now it’s the Sea Buckthorn Berry, a citrusy tasting little orange fruit grown in the Tibetan mountainside.  According to Sibu’s website, “the sea buckthorn berry fortifies itself against the elements by producing an array of powerful nutrients. With over 190 bioactive compounds, sea buckthorn is an unsurpassed source of Omegas 3, 6, and 9. And it’s a rich source of the elusive essential fatty acid, Omega-7, an essential fatty acid vital to collagen production and healthy skin, hair and nails.”  Sounds perfectly healthy as well as beautiful!  I was excited to try out the whole array of products I received: the face wash, day cream, supplement pills, and the supplement juice.

  

First off, I’ll review the two supplements.  Jen, the editor of My Beauty Bunny, is much more dedicated than I am and she swore that the supplements, both the juice and the pill, were making her eyelashes actually grow longer after using them for several months!  I only used the one month supply that I won, so I can’t comment on any long-term benefits.  At $30 for each one-month supply of pills and juice, I couldn’t quite fit an extra $60 in my beauty budget a month.  So after my one-month usage the only thing I really noticed was that my fingernails seemed to be stronger and healthier (but I also have only had one mani/pedi since October to try to avoid the toxins found in typical nail salon products, so that could be part of my nail health, too.)  I would like to say that the juice tastes pretty incredible, and I’m fairly sure it would taste amazing in a champagne cocktail…you still get the health benefits of the juice even if it’s combined with a little bubbly, right?

 

Next up, is the facial soap which is my favorite product of the bunch!  It has little exfoliating bits and my face feels clean, but not tight and stripped of moisture.  Plus, at a puzzlingly cheap $5.95, it’s a steal!  It’s strange that the supplements are so expensive while the cleanser is so affordable, but I’m not going to complain.  It’s a bargain and a fabulous 100% natural cleanser.  I will definitely be re-purchasing this.  Great addition to a Mother’s Day natural beauty gift basket too!

 

Finally, the daytime facial cream is a light, oil-free, daytime-appropriate moisturizer that smells uplifting and fresh, a bit like Froot Loops!  If you have very dry skin it might be too light for you, but for my combination skin it’s great as the weather warms up.  It’s supposed to rejuvenate sun-damaged skin, so I’m anxious to see what it does to my Midwestern-teenager-who-loved-the-sun-a-bit-too-much spots over the long-term.  At $19.95 I think this is a reasonably-priced, fantastic option if you’re in the market for a new Spring to Summer daytime lotion.  I wouldn’t recommend it as a night cream simply because I prefer something a bit heavier overnight, but I’ve been really enjoying using this during the day (with some SPF in my foundation and powder, of course).

If you’re wanting to try Sea Buckthorn in your beauty regimen, I can’t recommend this natural, environmentally-friendly company enough!

5 Comments

Filed under Cleansers, Cool Companies We Love, Moisturizers, Product Reviews

5 responses to “Sibu Beauty

  1. Pingback: Have / Love / Want 2 « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

  2. Sarah Smithson

    Yes, the products are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! This is the most super of super-fruits to date and the Sibu Beauty products made of premium seabuckthorn berries are fantastic.

  3. Thanks for the kind words about my blog! I’m glad you liked the goodies! I was just about to buy some more Sibu today. I swear it’s like they got me hooked! And, my eyelashes have gotten much longer, but because they’re so long, they don’t curl much. I have to use the eyelash curler faithfully (which I guess I did anyway)! Oh – and now they have an eye cream, an oil and a body cream. Sibu sent me some samples, so I’ll be reviewing them soon. I review so many products – it’s great when I find something I really like. Just wish I had a sugar daddy to buy them for me. :p

Leave a Reply

