PeaceKeeper Nail Polish and Remover

Posted by:  Jordan

Since embarking on this natural product makeover, I’ve only had one manicure/pedicure.  To some folks this may not be such a commendable accomplishment, but for this Junkie who used to get them at least once or twice a month, it is a huge void in my life!  I’ve been pushing back my cuticles and buffing my nails so they’re smooth and presentable every week or two.  As a newlywed, I’m still kind of trained on the thought process, “people are looking at your hands, make sure they look pretty!”  I’m sure once I eventually start a family that whole idea is going straight out the window.  But for now, it’s a big deal for me to forego my mani/pedis–especially now that sandal season is upon us!

So why, you may be asking, am I making such a personal sacrifice?  (I know I’m sounding superficial here by calling it a personal sacrifice…whatever, if you yourself aren’t the slightest bit of a product junkie, you probably aren’t even reading this blog!  This is an addict’s safe place, after all.)  Well, unfortunately conventional nail polishes, as well as their cohort, the nail polish remover, are some of the most toxic products out there, along with hair color (another HUGE personal sacrifice, but that’s another post altogether!)  Most nail polishes contain formaldehyde…yep, that nasty smelling stuff that may remind you of frog dissection is a known carcinogen.   They also contain phthalates (that thing I can never pronounce), which are hormone disruptors.  There’s a reason why pregnant women are advised to avoid nail salons.

But sometimes a girl just really wants some pretty nails for a special occasion, right?  Or even a non-special occasion, like a Tuesday.  Enter PeaceKeeper Cause-Metics (catchy name, right?), based right here in NYC.  I bought mine at Whole Foods on recommendation from the sweet sales girl who was more than happy to point out her favorite colors.  She steered me towards a pale pink shade called “Paint Me Tranquil” which is a perfect demure everyday shade for both hands and feet:

It does a nice job of going on smoothly, and seems to be about as long-lasting as my old O.P.I.   This polish is toulene, formaldehyde, and animal-testing Free, and as a bonus, it contains Argan Oil!  Even more of a bonus, all distributable profits from this company support women’s issues.  I assure you, this is a painless replacement product for your old polish.  And it’s only $8, no more than the typical salon brands.

The polish remover isn’t quite as painless.  It requires a bit of time and elbow grease to get your polish off, but it’s worth it to me to have “No Nasty Anything”, which is what their label touts.  The remover is made from sugar beets, rosemary, and spearmint,  and is more oily than your standard nail polish remover, which makes you feel like you’re moisturizing your nails and cuticles instead of drying them with harsh chemicals.  The minty scent is a refreshing change from normal the old toxic removers I used to use.  Everything about PeaceKeeper Cause-Metics is a refreshing change, in fact.  Even if the remover requires a bit more work to get  your polish off, I’m still a huge fan of these products.  Give them a try and see if you can give up your unhealthy nail rituals too!

3 Comments

Filed under Cool Companies We Love, Nail Polish & Remover, Product Reviews

3 responses to “PeaceKeeper Nail Polish and Remover

  1. Thank you for this reco! I am searching for some great non-toxic polish and remover and this one looks wonderful. Just stumbled across your blog via Trish at Scent Hive!

    • Jordan

      Thanks for reading, Nikki! It is a great remover–I even used it on my 4 year old niece when she begged me to paint her nails this weekend. I love that the remover smells like mint instead of that painful nail polish remover scent!

  2. I’m finally taking better care of my fingernails and toenails and they’re really looking better. Thanks, David

Leave a Reply

