Better Organic Choice

Posted by:  Jordan

Today I had the unique opportunity to meet Karim Orange and Jolene Hart, the masterminds behind Better Organic Choice, a natural products consulting website founded earlier this year.  Karim and Jolene found that all of their friends and family members were coming to them asking for advice on how to green-up their beauty arsenal.  After noticing that numerous people were coming to them for this natural beauty advice, a lightbulb appeared over their heads and they thought, “why don’t we make a business out of this?”  Thus, Better Organic Choice was born (I just love stories like this about women who follow their dreams and end up making a business out of it!).  Now anyone can get expert natural beauty advice from these expertly informed women. Karim is an Emmy-nominated makeup artist and founder of Organic Orange Studio in Manhattan.  Jolene Hart, a former beauty writer for InStyle Magazine, is now becoming certified as a Holistic Health Counselor. 

Before my consultation I was told to bring in 3 beauty products I would like to replace with a natural alternative.  I chose to bring in my trusty Dove deodorant, the beloved Maybelline Full ‘n Soft Mascara, and a John Frieda Hair Volumizer.  Karim and Jolene went through each product and gave me ideas of items to try out as replacements.  Here’s what my list included.
 
Dove Deodorant alternatives:
1. Lavanila Healthy Deodorant (I told them I had tried this and agree it’s a great alternative, but Jolene empathized with me that you sometimes need to “touch up” throughout the day, especially on a hot day).  Karim suggested a tip: try out some crystal mineral spray deodorant underneath the Lavanila as a layered deodorant routine.
2. Karim told me how she creates a homemade deodorant for her daughter by making a  paste out of baking soda, water, and essential oils (lavender and clary sage).  This sounds a bit messy to me, but I’ll try anything once! 
 
Maybelline Full ‘N Soft Mascara alternatives:
1. Karim stated that mascara is one of the least important places you need to focus on finding a great green alternative because all mascaras are relatively safe due to being ophthalmologist tested.  However, a green mascara alternative that she favors is Bare Minerals Flawless Definition for a more dramatic, lengthened look.
2. I asked the ladies what they thought about 100% Pure Mascara.  While Karim didn’t love it because it wasn’t lengthening enough for her taste, she did say it’s great for a clean, fresh look.  Jolene chimed in that she likes this mascara because it’s made with black tea and smells just like a cup of tea!  I’ve been wanting to try this mascara ever since Trish at Scent Hive reviewed it, so I think it’s going to be next on my list.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
John Frieda Luxurious Volume Spray alternatives:
1. Jolene said she likes Aveda Volumizing Tonic.  I had heard mixed reviews on how “natural” Aveda products were, so I asked her thoughts on that.  She said they have reformulated a lot of their products and while they’re not all perfectly natural, they’re about at the halfway mark on the spectrum of good and evil. 
2. Karim said a wonderful line that’s even more natural is John Masters Organics, which I have been dying to try for months.  Jolene agreed that she loves John Masters, but the only volumizing product they have is the Deep Scalp Follicle Treatment & Volumizer for Thinning Hair.  She said it might be worth trying out, but since its sole purpose isn’t just a volumizer it might not give my thin hair the maximum boost it craves.
 
After discussing my product alternatives, Karim took me over to look at some of her favorite makeup and skincare products.  She suggested trying out Vapour Organic Beauty’s Atmosphere Luminous Foundation.  I tested a little on my hand, and it’s incredibly soft and smooth.  I can’t wait to try this out as soon as I run out of my current Bare Minerals foundation.  Another great tip that Karim suggested, which is also on their website is to create your own custom blended tinted moisturizer by mixing some of your mineral powder foundation with your favorite moisturizer.  During the summer months you can add a little bronzer in with it to deepen the color gradually.
 
I have to admit, before I went to my consultation I was a little skeptical about how well their business plan would work.  You have to pay $10 per product that you want advice on how to replace, with a minimum of 3 products.  If you want to do an entire product overhaul, they offer a package deal: 12 products for $100.  I wasn’t sure how many people would be willing to pay for advice like this, but after meeting these two down-to-earth, smart women, I can see the appeal.  They are incredibly knowledgeable on natural beauty products, as well as what is in the ingredient lists.  Plus, there’s a certain appeal to getting advice on natural beauty from an award-winning makeup artist who truly knows her stuff (natural or not)!  What do you think?  Would you be willing to pay for this service?  Leave a note in the comments and tell us your thoughts.
 
**Also, Karim was so thoughtful and gave both me and Emily (who sadly couldn’t make it to the appointment today due to a scheduling conflict) a full size Vapour Organic Beauty lipstick as a gift!  Product review coming soon on what we thought of the lipsticks.  Thank you so much Karim and Jolene for inviting us to test out your services, and best of luck in your new business venture!
 
2 Comments

Filed under Cool Companies We Love

2 responses to “Better Organic Choice

  1. Hey Jordan!
    I am still loving 100% Pure’s mascara and use it almost everyday. I find that it gives me plenty of length and fullness, especially with a few coats. I know they recently changed their wand, so make sure you get a new one b/c it works much better!

    And I too love Vapour’s stick foundation. I just used it today in fact. It’s so easy to apply and great for travel.

    How fun that you got to meet the ladies of BOC!

    ~Trish

  2. Pingback: The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 4: Crystal Rock Spray « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

Leave a Reply

