Have / Love / Want volume 3

Posted by: Emily

Have:

Burt’s Bees Soap Bark and Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream

Like everything I feature in the “have” column, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with this cleanser. Well, maybe that’s not true– I feel like it leaves a film on my face after I’ve washed it– like it is depositing oils or moisturizers, which may be a positive for some people, but I want to feel all squeaky-clean after washing my face. I think I’m in the minority here, and I’ve even read that it’s not good for your skin to feel all squeaky-clean, but years of harsh cleansers have made me think that’s the correct feeling. The smell isn’t my favorite– there’s something a little chalky about it– but the scent is the very thing my husband loves about this clenaser, so go figure.
You might love it, too. And the price is right; $8.00 is a dollar or two more than what one would pay for any [chemical-laden] drugstore cleanser, and this one is 97% natural with no chemicals.

Love:

Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Gentle Baby Oil

I bought this oil at my favorite local natural foods store, Gary Null’s Uptown Whole Foods, with the intention of mixing it with some sugar to make a scrub. I haven’t done so yet because I am so enjoying using it as a moisturizer! The scent, Baby Blossom, is lovely! I can’t quite place it– I know it reminds me of something, and I think it’s something from my teenage years, but nonetheless I really enjoy it. I do intend to make it into a scrub soon, as well. I think it would make my shower experience divine. My only complaint in using it as a moisturizer is that it’s a little TOO thick and moisturizing, and coming from me, you know that should be impossible. So take that as a compliment, Mrs. Meyers!
*One extra note: Upon falling in love with this scent, I thought “oh, I’ll buy the shampoo and soap and lotion and other things in this line with the same scent” only to find that this is one of the few products in this line that doesn’t have sulfates or PEGs in it. So disappointing, right? Just a reminder to us, that, save a few brands like our darling Weleda, you cannot assume a brand or line is all chemical free! You have to check every product if it’s important to you to be completely chem-free. Maybe someday, this won’t be the case. But for now, my friends, you cannot be too thorough.

Want:

John Masters Organics Sweet Orange & Silk Protein Styling Gel

Summer is coming and I love being able to let my hair air-dry. But I have very frizzy, big hair, so I cannot just wash and go. I need product! This one looks extremely promising. I just ordered it from Amazon.com! Can’t wait to try it out! I’ll let you know…

5 Comments

Filed under Cleansers, Hair Care, Have/Love/Want, Moisturizers, Product Reviews

5 responses to “Have / Love / Want volume 3

  1. Alyssa

    Let us know on the styling gel 🙂

  2. actorsdiet

    i’m the same way about that cleanser…i don’t love it but i don’t hate it either.

  3. Pingback: Just FYI « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

  4. Lynne

    I’m new to your blog, so I just read this post and might be missing other updates, but….I completely agree about the Soap bark cleanser: it leaves a residue that, on my sensitive skin, actually ends up irritating me. At first it’s like this pleasant, tingly feeling, but after 10 minutes without going away, it’s just annoying. I used it twice and then put it in my drawer. Went back to look for something better, and I am sooooo excited now because I found the best cleanser ever! (In my opinion.) It’s Burt’s Bees Orange Essence Facial Cleanser with Orange Oil and is 100% natural. It is genuinely soothing to my skin and smells fabulous. I love the way it works and recommend it to everyone. I think it says on the bottle that it is “award-winning,” and I can understand why. (I just wish the bottle told me WHAT award it won–I’m curious.)

    • Jordan

      Thanks for the recommendation! I like to have both a foaming and a cream cleanser on hand at all times, and I’m almost out of my Juice Beauty foaming one, so I’ll have to try this one next since you love it so much!

Leave a Reply

