Have / Love / Want #4

Time for another edition of  “Have/Love/Want”!

Have: Weleda Wound-Care

Remember in the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding how the main character’s father used Windex on absolutely everything? Well, that used to be me with Neosporin.  Bug bite? Put Neosporin on it. Pimple? Why, Neposporin heals, right? Dry skin in the winter? Neosporin!

But now I’ve given up Petroleum products, so no more Neosporin for me! So when I saw Weleda Wound-Care a few weeks ago, I got excited– I thought, well, here’s a replacement for my Neosporin addiction! And it’s fine– it’s not bad at all. But it’s not Neosporin. I  hate to say it, but I miss that suffocating-moisture-goodness feeling I got from putting Petroleum on my skin. But I don’t miss that harming-the-environment-and-putting-toxins-in-my-body feeling, so I guess it’s a huge improvement!

And I do think it’s a really good product, with wonderful, healing Calendula Flower Extract.  And you know how we adore Weleda!

Love: Brown Butterfly Aromatherapy Refresh Hand & Body Lotion

This lotion is divine. It’s creamy but absorbent, and it smells amazing! The smell actually reminds me a little of Jordan’s Mint Lemonade Sugar Scrub, which is, hands-down, my favorite product, ever. She made it for all the guests at her wedding (almost a year ago, exactly– Happy Anniversary!) and after using it was the first time I didn’t use moisturizer after a shower! True story. Maybe if enough of you write in and ask nicely, Jordan will blog about it and post the recipe!…

But getting back to the wonderful BBA Refresh Lotion. I was lucky enough to receive some from my sister, brother-in-law, and nephew for my birthday, along with some other fun products I’ll write about soon, and they arrived in gorgeous packaging all the way from Washington state. You might remember that I discovered Brown Butterfly back in February when I visited said sister and family in Seattle. At a farmer’s market, I sampled Brown Butterfly Aromatherapy products, fell madly in love, and brought home my still-favorite Rose Lip Service. At the time, I couldn’t bring home any more products, thanks to the TSA’s fun 3-1-1 rule, so I am so happy to have gotten some sent to me for my birthday!

The lotions and potions were safely shipped and travel very well, but the pump on my Refresh Lotion was randomly busted, so when I emailed the company, not only did they send me a replacement pump, they also sent me an entire replacement bottle! I feel like the luckiest girl, ever! And in the meantime, while the new pump was en route, Fran, the owner of Brown Butterfly, told me to seal the top of the bottle with plastic wrap and a rubber band and store it in the fridge. Worked like a charm! Great customer service to match great products.

The amazing scent of the Refresh Lotion is comprised of Lemongrass, Rosewood, and Mint.

Want:

REN products

I was looking back through all my notes to try and decide what to include on this post’s “have” and “love” sections, when I stumbled upon an old “want” list. Know what was on it? “Big, glossy lip gloss” and “a good concealer.” Well, solved and found! I now have both those things from Vapour Beauty (yes, I’m still totally obsessed!) and I will soon be posting about the concealer. Jordan already wrote about the Elixir Gloss, and I am also really enjoying it.

So, since those two things can be crossed off my list, what do I really want? Well, I’ve been drooling over REN products lately. I have heard they’re absolutely pure, and look at what they DON’T include: (copied from their website)
REN products do not contain potential irritants including: glycols and diglycols (such as propylene glycol), PEG’s, PPGs, urea, D.E.A, T.E.A, PABA and other synthetic sunscreens, aliphatic alcohols/hydrocarbons, phthalates, fumarates, amines, alkanolamines, synthetic AHAs/BHAs, polyacrylamide, metacrylate, elastomer, poloxamer, styrene, vinyl, polyquaternium, synthetic chelating agents, nylon, nitriles, nitrates, nitrosamine releasers, bromates, fluor, aluminum and alumina etc.
Awesome, right? I want to try it all! I think I’ll start with Hydra-Calm Global Protection Day Cream. I love the name. Sounds like it was made for me; the two things my skin really needs are hydration and something to calm down all the pimples, red spots, and problem areas!
2 Comments

Filed under Have/Love/Want, Product Reviews

2 responses to “Have / Love / Want #4

  1. Alyssa

    Not much of the fan of REN’s skincare.. Tried many of their products and I feel they are overpriced with little results. But I do like their rose body products! The bath oil and shower gel is wonderful.

  2. Pingback: The REN-down « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

Leave a Reply

