Sunscreen Reviews, Part 3: Yes To Carrots, Jason Sunbrellas, & Sun Putty

Posted by:  Jordan

I picked up this sunscreen quickly at Whole Foods for about $12 while I was on a mission to find a bubble bath and a sunscreen for my 4-year old niece who was visiting from Portland, OR.  I didn’t do much research on which sunscreen to get, so I blindly chose this one because it was a high enough SPF, I’ve heard and liked things about Jason products in the past, and it was marketed for kids.  Plus, nothing in the ingredient list jumped out at me immediately for being a concern (no Parabens, PEG’s or PABA).  The unfortunate thing that I’ll get right out in the open is that this sunblock contains oxybenzone, which after consulting EWG’s sunscreen report, I’ve found that this is not an ideal ingredient, as it could be an endocrine disruptor.  The things we liked about this sunscreen, however, was that it smelled like bananas, there was no white tint from the minerals, and it rubbed in really easily.  My husband and our 4-year-old niece had no complaints!  In the end, I don’t think I’d buy this formulation again because I’m concerned about the oxybenzone.  (P.S. the natural lavender bubble bath for kids that we bought from Rainbow was well-loved too!)

 

 This is a great everyday moisturizer with SPF 30 when you don’t plan on being out in the sun much, but want a little protection just in case.  When I wore this for the first time I was unexpectedly out in the direct hot sun for a couple of hours and got a minor burn on my shoulder.  On a normal day though, this is great preventative measure!  This sunscreen is only 97.4% natural, with only the vague ingredient “fragrance” at the bottom of the list jumping out at me (which most likely means it is made with some unnatural chemical fragrances, which seems unnecessary to me.  If you go to all the trouble of making a mostly natural sunscreen, why add unnatural fragrances?)  I bought mine on drugstore.com for $14.99.  By the way, this is my husband’s favorite sunscreen so far this natural testing season.

 

The big winner of my recent sunscreen tests has been a sample I received of Sun Putty SPF 30.  This is my absolute favorite natural sunscreen I’ve ever tried, plus it received a glowing review from EWG’s sunscreen analysis with a hazard level of only 1.  In fact, it was listed as one of the top  moisturizers with SPF for the year on Skin Deep!  It smells a bit like Fruity Pebbles cereal, but it’s not strong and doesn’t linger for a long time.  I actually like the child-like fruity scent.  The texture is very creamy and easy to blend, and as expected–since it’s my favorite natural sunscreen–there’s no white cast!  The color of the sunscreen is actually beige in the tube, so it doesn’t even require being rubbed in to get rid of a white tint.  This fantastic sunscreen isn’t sold in too many places just yet, but you can buy it online here for $26 for a 1 oz jar (and one day when my dream comes true of owning a natural/organic beauty product boutique, you’ll hopefully be able to buy it there too!).

If you’re looking for your perfect natural sunscreen for your summer vacation and find yourself in a store overwhelmed with choices, I recommend downloading EWG’s iPhone app for safe sunscreens.  I tried it out and it works great!  It’s perfect when you’re shopping and need to check on a certain sunscreen’s safety.  It’s quick and easy to use, although some brands aren’t listed on the app which are listed online.  Other than that, this is a really handy free iPhone app that is extremely useful when you’re out doing your shopping.

5 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews, Sunscreen

5 responses to “Sunscreen Reviews, Part 3: Yes To Carrots, Jason Sunbrellas, & Sun Putty

  1. Thanks for your awesome review- I have a question about the Sun Putty. Did you wear it under makeup? I am looking for a daily suncreen to wear under makeup, as recommended by my esthetician. I like that it doesn’t leave a white cast, and am wondering if it made your skin greasy or breakout ( i have combo skin, so i guess it depends on your skin type too) and if you wore it over a moisturizer or just directly on your skin (my esthetician also recommends I wear it over a moisturizer). Your input is appreciated – thanks!!

    • Jordan

      Hi! I do love the Sun Putty! I wore it over my moisturizer and under makeup and it was perfect! Not greasy or breakout-inducing at all. Definitely give it a try–it’s a fantastic sunscreen! Love your blog, by the way!

  2. Pingback: Marie Veronique Organics | Product Junkies Rehab

  3. Pingback: Our Favorite Natural Sunscreens of 2013 | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

