I’ve Always Loved Oprah!

Posted by: Emily

I am a huge Oprah fan. In fact, Jordan and I, along with our friend Kate, saw Oprah’s show live from New York last fall when she broadcast from Central Park! We had to wait in line forever, but it was totally worth it.  I just think Oprah is incredibly wise, and she has amazing friends/guests/experts.

So it follows that I also love her magazine. I subscribed to it for a long time, but just two months ago, I let my subscription run out. There were many reasons– too much to read, I didn’t want to spend the money, and I don’t like the waste of all the paper that piles up on my nightstand with all the magazines I get, so I decided to let them all go, even my wonderful O magazine. And I thought it was no big deal.

But this past week, I realized I was wrong to let O go! My mom came to visit and brought me her copy, because in it are some incredible deals! The whole August issue is dedicated to deals and bargains! Don’t worry, I’m not just waxing poetic about bargains and Oprah in general– the issue features many natural products in the beauty section!!

Hooray! I always get excited when I see mainstream media talking about natural brands. It doesn’t happen as frequently as I’d like, but there is definite progress. I realize it’s tricky– magazines make their money from advertising, and who has all the advertising dollars to spend? Huge cosmetic companies that make un-natural, non-organic products. So the magazine has to give big cosmetics the love– I get that. (I don’t love it, but I get it). So thanks, Oprah Magazine, for highlighting some of our faves!

Here are some of the bargains you’ll find when you rush out and buy your very own copy of this wonderful magazine:

  • Revolution Organics Freedom Gloss, retails for $26, is $20 with code. (I did this one and I am really liking this gloss! I chose the color all the way on the right in this picture, called Vibe.  I will be posting a review soon!)
  • Korres Wild Rose Foundation, retails for $28, is $23 with code. (This is not 100% natural, but it is free of parabens, sulfates, and synthetic dyes. Here at PJR we like to let you make your own choices and celebrate even semi-natural choices as better than nothing!! I would not use this foundation, but again, better than one with parabens, sulfates, etc.)
  • Naturopathica Oat Facial Polish, retails for $52, is $25 with code! (That’s more than half off!) This company looks really cool! I heard first about them from my sister, who was thinking about going to a spa in Seattle that uses Naturopathica products and wanted my opinion. They seem like an excellent natural company! And theyhave a spa in the Hamptons, so Jordan and I might just have to take a field trip out there soon and check itout!  For the sake of research, of course!

You may notice I didn’t just post all the codes here on the blog. Partly it’s because I want you all to have the joy of reading the whole issue, and partly because I don’t feel right just giving away the codes, since you’re supposed to have to buy the magazine to get them. I know you could just go to Barnes & Noble, look through the magazine, and copy down all the codes, but I’m pretty square, so I don’t want to just give them away. And I don’t know what O magazine costs on the newsstand, but a subscription is a bargain!  I’m going to rectify my mistake of thinking I could live without Oprah Magazine and go renew mine right now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Giveaways/Freebies/Discounts

Leave a Reply

