The REN-down

Posted by: Emily

My prayers have been answered!!!

REN is coming out with a new Acne treatment skincare line!

From what I can tell, it’s exclusive to Sephora, which is great, because Sephora has the best return policy, so I know I can try it worry-free and return it if it doesn’t work.

But I have a lot of hope and faith that it will work! I am currently using, and loving, several REN products— simply by having gotten a lot of samples from various stores 🙂 What can I say? I like to try before I buy! I really like all the samples I’ve been using, but I have been craving a good, safe acne treatment.

So, I wrote to REN customer service a few weeks ago, to see what they recommend for use on acne-prone skin. And the weird thing was that I didn’t get a response back right away; customer service is usually quick and eager to answer. Several days went by. And I thought, well, that was strange, and then I finally got back the most lovely email from jolly old England, complete with up-and-down apologies for the delay. They listed several recommended products, most of which I was already sampling, but it got me wondering… why the delay?

And now it all makes sense! The customer service rep must have known they were *about* to release the acne line, and didn’t know if she could tell me yet! Don’t worry, REN customer service, I know all about it now! (I don’t mean this in any way to be a criticism of REN’s customer service– I was really happy with their response, and so what if it took a little while?)

Then, once Sephora launched the line, called Clear Calm 3, it still wasn’t available to order online for a few weeks, because, clearly, they’re trying to torture me! But as of today, when I sat down to write this, the following new products are available to order (and in my virtual shopping cart!!):

REN ClearCalm 3 Anti-Blemish Day Fluid

This light moisturizer promises less oil and smaller pores. I am sold!

REN ClearCalm 3 Replenishing Night Serum

Here’s the yummy ingredient list, and what it promises to do:

-Glabridin: Reduces sebum overflow and microbial growth, and lightens hyperpigmented acne scars.
-Leghemoglobin: Acts as a powerful antioxidant.
-Kaempferol: Repairs DNA damage.
-Chamomile and Lavender Essential Oils: Soothe skin and help to balance hormones.

Well, it sounds great, but I doubt the Chamomile and Lavender are going to balance my hormones! I don’t think Essential Oils have the power to do that 🙂 But I am excited about the Glabridin reducing sebum and lightening acne scars! I am so excited to try this.

And coming soon, ClearCalm 3 Anti-Acne Treatment Mask. I have been looking for an all-natural acne treatment containing Sulfur for the longest time! And this also has Salicylic Acid– perfect! My two favorite acne-fighting ingredients. Can’t wait till this is finally available at Sephora!!!!

One more little treat: Right now, receive a 0.5 oz REN ClearCalm 3 Anti-Blemish Clay Cleanser sample, free with any online merchandise purchase with the code CLAYCLEANSE at Sephora.com!

I decided not to buy this cleanser, even if I hadn’t gotten this nice, big sample. Much as I want luxurious cleansers, it’s one place I really like to save money. Cleansers don’t stay on your skin (hopefully– they’re supposed to wash off entirely!) so buying one with fancy, expensive ingredients can be a waste of money. I am sure this one is lovely, and I am excited to use this sample, but I think I’ll hold off on buying the whole thing. But if REN or Sephora wants to send me one, I’d LOVE to try it and review it, wink, wink! Come on, REN and Sephora, convince me I’m wrong about not needing pricy cleansers 🙂

And, as always, REN products are made without the following: Parabens, Sulfates, Synthetic Fragrances, Synthetic Dyes, Petrochemicals, Phthalates, GMOs, and Triclosan. Love that!


1 Comment

Filed under Acne treatments

One response to “The REN-down

  1. Jordan

    Just wanted to report in that I got the deluxe sample of the Ren clay cleanser from Sephora a couple weeks ago, and I’m loving it! I think I might have to buy the full-size product…

Leave a Reply

