The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 6: Lafe’s Natural and Organic Deodorant Stick

Posted by:  Jordan

I know I said my search for a natural deodorant that actually works is over when I became a convert to Miessence, but I received a sample of this product from a PR rep for the company and decided to bring it along with me on my Italian vacation to test it out.  The ingredients are 97% natural, and are free of paraben, propylene glycol and aluminum.  Of course, I’d be happier if the ingredients were 100% natural, but if I focus on what potentially harmful things are left out of the ingredients, it makes me feel better.  One of the main active ingredients is sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), which I’ve found keeps odors at bay for me.  This is a clear solid, so you don’t have to worry about telltale deodorant marks on your clothes.

The deodorizing protection hasn’t held up all day for me yet (granted, I’ve been testing it in 90 degree temperatures, walking around in Italy and NYC).  I’ve found that I like this deodorant best as a mid-day refresher.  In Tuscany I would start my day out with a little Miessence and by around 4pm I might need a little refresher.  This particular lavender scent is ideal for an afternoon touch-up because it’s so herbally, soothing, and fresh–just like real lavender.  While I can’t rely solely on this deodorant all day, I think it’s great as a “desk drawer deodorant.”

Lafe’s is an Austin, TX based company, and was started by Lafe Larson, who grew up with his mother instilling in him the same philosophy that my husband and I adhere to when grocery shopping, “if you can’t pronounce it, avoid it.”  Growing up with a natural diet and a holistic lifestyle eventually led to manufacturing his own line of natural personal care products, which, in addition to a line of deodorants, includes organic baby care and a unique line of natural intimacy products called “joi organics“.

You can buy Lafe’s deodorant for about $6-7 at Whole Foods and on Lafe’s website.

1 Comment

Filed under Deodorants, Product Reviews

One response to “The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 6: Lafe’s Natural and Organic Deodorant Stick

  1. Pingback: The Great Deodorant Hunt of 2010 – A Year in Review | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

