Rose Water and Chamomile Water

Posted by:  Jordan

Recently I’ve been loving two other floral waters in addition to my Springtime favorite, orange blossom water.  The first one is from the same brand as the orange blossom water, Al Wadi, sold for $2.10 at the  local Brooklyn favorite, Sahadi’s Middle Eastern market.  I use this 100% natural rose water in the same manner as the orange blossom water, which I discussed several months ago; mainly,  as a toner, a hydrating mist to set my makeup, and mixed with some Dr. Bronner’s unscented liquid soap and essential oils to make a subtle, relaxing body wash which is perfect for sensitive skin.

1/2 cup rose water
1 cup liquid castile soap
15 drops lavender essential oil
15 drops chamomile essential oil

There are so many uses for floral water, I’d love to hear what anyone else uses these beautifully scented waters for. I’ve even heard of using them as a breath freshener–much more elegant than Scope, I’d say!

The second floral water I’ve come to enjoy as part of my daily routine in the past few weeks is Melvita’s Chamomile Water.  Packaged in a beautiful cobalt blue spray bottle, Melvita’s water is 99% organic!  At first I thought the scent was a bit overpowering and strange, but now the distinctive, yet calming, scent is something I look forward to in my morning and evening regimen.  I’ve been spraying 4-5 spritzes on a cotton pad after cleansing to tone my skin and prepare it for its nightly serum or lotion.  Chamomile water is wonderful for alleviating irritated, red eyes.  Simply spray some of the water on a couple of cotton pads, chill in the refrigerator for a couple of minutes, then apply as a cold compress to your eyes while lying down.  Melvita’s website even claims that this product is recommended for treating dark under-eye circles!

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY Beauty, Product Reviews, Toner

Leave a Reply

