Neem Oil

Posted by:  Jordan

A new, unexpected term of endearment has been coined in our household recently.  I’ve suddenly become known as “my little everything bagel” thanks to the potently scented Neem Oil I started using after reading Brilliant Farmgirl’s Beauty Secrets post.  Everything bagels are my favorite flavor of bagel, but I don’t especially enjoy walking around smelling like onion, garlic, and sesame.  But, I figured, “how bad can it really be???”  Oh boy…

Ayurvedic medicine promotes Neem oil as a natural cure for skin ailments like acne, psoriasis, eczema, dandruff, rosacea, and even wrinkles!  With all those benefits in one $10 bottle of oil, I knew I had to try it.  So I made a beeline to my local health food store and asked the man at the beauty counter for a bottle.  He looked at me skeptically and said, “you know how it smells, right?”  I replied, “Oh yes, I read that it has a strong onion and garlic smell, but I’m sure I can handle it.”  I’m “man” enough to deal with smelling like onion…or so I thought.  I used this oil for 2 straight weeks before I had to go back to my pleasant-smelling Kae serums and balms.  This oil just smells so offensive!  My husband, despite his sweet pet names, physically turns his head away from me after I apply this oil to my face.  So unfortunately I can’t really give you an in-depth personal account of how well this oils works for clearing skin, reducing redness, and plumping wrinkles because I’m too disgusted by the smell to use it for an extended period of time!

Luckily, the helpful man at the natural food store did give me a sample of TheraNeem’s Oatmeal & Lavender Cleansing Bar.  It’s a much more pleasant-smelling way to add Neem Oil into my skincare routine!  And at only $6 it’s an affordable addition, too.

Neem Oil comes from the fruit of the Neem tree, which is indigenous to India and Burma.  The fruit looks much like an olive:

 

Neem Oil has strong antibacterial properties, which is why the oil is thought to help prevent acne.  In India, these antibacterial qualities are also thought to be an effective method in preventing pregnancy, by using the oil as a spermicide. But I think perhaps the oil’s horrible stench is possibly what’s more effective in preventing pregnancies!  All joking aside, the effects of using Neem Oil externally during pregnancy are not well researched, so if you are pregnant just make sure you do your own research to see if you’re comfortable using the oil in your beauty regimen during pregnancy.  Avoid ingesting Neem Oil unless you talk to a doctor or herbalist, as it can be toxic if taken internally.

If anybody is up for a dare, I dare you to use this oil for at least a month and report back in how it’s working out for your skin!  I just can’t bring myself to use it unless I had a cold and couldn’t smell a thing.   I guess I’m not as hard-core of a junkie as I thought!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Acne treatments, Cleansers, Moisturizers, Product Reviews

4 responses to “Neem Oil

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Mishaps and Miracles Episode 1 – Whiteheads, Blackheads, and Zits Oh My! « Product Junkies Rehab Blog

  2. I have been doing research on neem for a while now. Both my dogs and cats have issues with fleas as they are allowed to go outside. I have read that neem is an excellent remedy for both fleas and ticks on household pets.

  3. Great site and postings Very informative thanks

Leave a Reply

