Burt’s Bees Natural Toothpaste

Posted by:  Jordan

I’m approaching yet another birthday, and with another birthday comes another thing to dislike about aging.  Today’s aging gripe:  Where the heck did my bright, naturally white smile go???  It seems to be getting  more beige by the day.  I don’t even drink coffee!  (Let’s just forget about those 2 glasses of red wine last night for the time being, ok?  That has nothing to do with anything.)   And let’s not talk about those scary, harsh whitening treatments that can strip your enamel…I like having a strong enamel.  So recently I’ve been on the search for 100% natural toothpastes that have gentle whitening capabilities, and are also flouride-free.  Why flouride-free when all your life you hear about how we need tons of flouride or we’ll get a mouth full of cavities?  Well, because more and more studies are showing that flouride has been linked to cancer, altering DNA, and reproductive toxicity.  But your toothpaste has such a minimal amount of flouride, so it can’t possible do that much damage, right? Perhaps, but I happen to not want to risk altering my DNA or getting cancer.  Especially when you’re putting it on your gums, which are super absorbent, thereby getting all those unnatural chemicals into your bloodstream quickly.  Remember the “cool guys” in high school who thought it was so manly to put “chaw” (that’s what we called chewing tobacco in Indiana when I was in high school) under their lips because it got the nicotine into their bloodstream quickly?  Same goes with your toothpaste–whatever is in it, is also going in your body.  It’s just a personal choice for me to limit my daily intake of flouride, as well as unnatural preservatives, colors and flavors found in most toothpastes on the market.

Recently I’ve tried  Burt’s Bees Natural Toothpaste which is whitening, flouride-free, and 100% natural: fits the bill for everything on my toothpaste checklist.  Plus, it leaves my teeth fresher than other natural toothpastes I’ve tried, yet isn’t at all overpowering.  It’s funny–use natural toothpaste for about a month or so and then go back to your standard toothpaste and tell me how you feel using it again.  For me, my old conventional Crest is so strong and powerful that it almost burns now.  The tube of Crest in our medicine cabinet (my husband’s, which he refuses to let go of) looks so strange to me all of the sudden.  Whoever thought making toothpaste bright teal with silver sparkles in it would make people think it’s good for you?  It kind of scares me when I really think about what’s in it.  Again, this is just my personal choice and you have to do your own research and consider what you’re ok with in something you put in your mouth twice a day, every day (hopefully!)

This toothpaste is the best natural one I’ve tried.  It has cranberry extract, which is shown to naturally protect against plaque, and is also SLS-free, which means–keep this in mind–it won’t foam up like standard brands.  That doesn’t mean it’s not doing its job; it’s just something to get used to.  But even without SLS, I think it foams better than most natural toothpastes I’ve tried.  My only complaint with this toothpaste has nothing to do with the actual toothpaste;  it’s that the snap-shut lid is sometimes a little hard to open, especially when you’ve just put lotion on your hands.

If, like me, you are looking for a natural toothpaste that fits the above criteria, give this one a try.  They also have a flouride version if that’s important to you.  (And go here to print a $1 off coupon!)

8 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews, Toothpaste

8 responses to “Burt’s Bees Natural Toothpaste

  1. Mita

    I am glad you did a post about this- I have seen it several times and wondered about the results. I think I will just have to try it out too!
    THANKS!

    • Jordan

      I can’t comment on the results of the whitening yet, as I’ve only been using it a short time, but we’ll see! You’ll have to let me know what you think!

  2. Aileen

    For teeth whitening, this stuff is fantastic: Eco-Dent ExtraBrite Dazzling Mint Tooth Whitener. My natural foods co-op sells it. I used it for about a month in place of my regular toothpaste and there was a noticeable difference. Now I just use it for maintenance. Extra bonus: it costs about $7 and the bottle will last a super long time.

  3. Lisa

    I tried this toothpaste too, and while I enjoyed using it, I found that the bottle would ooze the paste out all the time all over the sink. Any issues with that Jordan?

    • Jordan

      You know, I read some customer reviews on Burt’s Bees’ website and saw that a few people said they had that problem too. I haven’t had that issue at all. I wonder if it’s because my bathroom is so cold that the toothpaste is extra solid. Sounds like they definitely need to make a few changes with their packaging.

  4. Re: flouride, not to mention that most cities flouridate their water, so we get more than enough from that.

    My favourite natural toothpaste ever in time is Kiss My Face Whitening Aloe Vera. I reckon my fierce tea drinking combats any whitening effects, but it just tastes the best out of any natural toothpaste I’ve tried, and it’s a gel rather than a paste, which I like. It doesn’t seem to last as long, but it’s much cheaper in the States than in Canada, if that comforts anyone. I always stock up when I’m down there.

Leave a Reply

