The Great Deodorant Hunt of 2010 – A Year in Review

Posted by:  Jordan

My armpits, not used to so much attention and scrutiny, have really taken a starring role this year and I think they deserve some recognition.  With the end of a year, and a new year beginning, I’d like to take a moment to applaud my armpits in their quest for a superb natural deodorant, as well as do a quick recap of everything I’ve tried.  Here, in order of my favorite to my least favorite, is everything my armpits have endured over the past year:

1. Homemade Deodorant Recipe #2 (Deodorant Cream)

This recipe, taking the top spot in this year of natural deodorant testing, came as a true shock to me!  I never would have thought that a homemade deodorant would actually work better than anything else I’ve tried.  Thanks to How About Orange blog for introducing me to my favorite natural deodorant of 2010!  The secret ingredient that I’ve found to be most effective in my natural deodorants (both homemade and commercial) is good old-fashioned baking soda.  I love adding some peppermint and rosemary essential oils to my DIY deodorant cream–the result is a deodorant that smells fresh, unisex, and not at all overpowering.

2. Miessence Tahitian Breeze

I’ve now tried the unscented version of the Miessence deodorant and I find that the Tahitian Breeze scent seems to aid in masking any late afternoon onsets of odor, which usually isn’t much.  Considering this deodorant is pre-made and you don’t have to rub it in with your hands like the homemade deodorant cream mentioned above, this deodorant’s convenience is appealing.  However, I’ve found that the homemade recipe seems to outlast Miessence in all-day staying power most of the time.

3. Homemade Baking Soda Paste

Combining baking soda with my Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel Toner makes a simple and effective natural deodorant, especially if you’re wanting to dip your toes into the world of natural deodorant without spending much money, considering most everyone has a box of baking soda lying around.  You can simply combine the baking soda with water or a flower water, but I particularly like combining it with the Thayer’s because I like the faint rose scent, and the astringent properties of witch hazel seem to help combat odor.

4. Lavanila

I have only tried the Grapefruit version of this deodorant.  It works fairly well, but after a long day it can need a little refreshing.  Also, the ingredients tend to get a little bit questionable with all the “derived from” lingo.  And the $18 price point makes this a splurge of a deodorant.

5. Homemade Deodorant Recipe #1 (Deodorant Pucks)

This deodorants holds up to odor really well at first, but I found that after using it for a few weeks, it started to smell a little musty by the end of the day…kind of like a damp basement.  Also, it gets more demerits for the slimy feeling you get under your arms once the deodorant melts a bit.  Doesn’t make you feel very pretty.

6. Dr. Hauschka’s Fresh Deodorant

The main drawback for this deodorant, other than not holding up to odors all day, is the $23 price tag.  I just find that way too expensive when I’ve found 5 other more effective, cheaper deodorants mentioned above.  Sorry, Dr. H, I’m just not sold on it yet.  I have however heard from others that the Floral scent seems to work better than the Fresh, but I just don’t know if I’m willing to spend that much on my deodorant.

7. Lafe’s Natural & Organic Deodorant Stick

Unfortunately this 97% natural deodorant didn’t hold up all day, and it feels pretty sticky on.  Plus, it’s not 100% natural.  I used to keep this deodorant in my desk drawer as an emergency back-up on stressful days, but then I noticed a small pool of water underneath it.  Turns out my deodorant was “sweating.”

8. Milk of Magnesia

I didn’t have high hopes for this method, but it surprised me a little.  I definitely smelled by late afternoon, but if you’re in a pinch try just dabbing a few swipes of Milk of Magnesia under your arms and you should be ok for about half the day.  After that, forget about it.

9. Weleda Wild Rose Deodorant Spray

You know I really hate to say anything bad about my beloved Weleda, but this deodorant simply didn’t work for me, and at $15 it really ought to have at least a few hours of smell-bashing properties.  Sadly, that wasn’t the case for me.  Perhaps another scent might work better, but judging on this version’s effectiveness, I just haven’t brought myself around to trying any of the others.

10. The Lemondrop Cocktail

Combining vodka with lemon juice and spraying on my underarms was simply a complete waste of a good vodka.  I owe my husband an apology for needlessly raiding his liquor cabinet.

**Disqualified:  Crystal Body Deodorant Spray

This deodorant actually worked pretty well, but I decided to stop using it after a week because I’m just not certain how I feel about the Potassium Alum in it.  And if I’m uncertain about a certain ingredient, it’s just not worth it to me to take the gamble.  The goal here is to find a natural deodorant that I also feel good about using, and this one just has a little too much controversy surrounding it.

Has anyone who has been following my year of deodorant searching made any different conclusions, or tried something else that you’re completely in love with?  Please share your thoughts!  Happy new year, everyone…here’s to a naturally odor-free 2011!

16 Comments

Filed under Deodorants

16 responses to “The Great Deodorant Hunt of 2010 – A Year in Review

  1. I am in love with LaVanila lavender. I am, however, questioning the ingredients and the price point. I even received a tube of it as a stocking stuffer from my mom… did I ever imagine that deodorant would be a gift??? That says a lot. I plan on trying the baking soda recipe once I have gone through my supply here. Not on the deodorant subject, but would love to see some of the recipes for homemade house cleaning solutions you have. I have a few, but always looking for ways to just use a couple of ingredients and stop the massive consumption of “all natural” house products. GREAT job this year PJR!

  2. The only natural deodorant that works for me is Druide. I find that it is more effective than anti-perspirant.

  3. I’ve used Lafe’s Deodorant spray and it lasts a few hours but towards the afternoon I need to reapply. I’ve also used Home Health’s Roll on Deodorant in the Jasmine Scent because the website I got it from had lots of positive reviews. The stuff has a strange smell and the deodorant doesn’t even last that long either – just a few hours at most. I’ve told myself that I won’t get any more until I use these up but I’m feeling tempted to try the Druide brand.

  4. I must try your first baking soda recipe! Man, baking soda totally rules.

    I’m using a crystal deodorant stick at the moment and I’m stoked with how well it’s been working. Truth be told, I found an unused one in the drawer of the flat I live in so I didn’t sit down and read *all* the ingredients. It’s a different brand than the one you have above though?

    • Jordan

      Hey Ginger! Yes, try out the baking soda recipe–it really does work wonders (for me, anyway…everyone reacts differently!) Yeah, I just don’t know how to feel about crystal sticks…some reviews say it’s totally fine and others say to be skeptical, so I just don’t know.

  5. Hi, thanks for sharing this and for being a test person 🙂 I’m also searching for the perfect, natural deodorant – and I think I’ll give your #1 a try!

    • Hi Anne! Welcome to the blog! Can’t wait to hear what you think of the deodorant– be sure to post in the comments and let us know!! –Emily

      • Jordan

        I just made a second batch of the coconut oil/baking soda/corn starch homemade deodorant cream and I added a little eucalyptus essential oil this time. I’m happy to report that I’m currently on vacation in warm, sunny Puerto Rico and my husband and I are both using it with not a single complaint! Definitely try it out and let us know what you think!

  6. Stephanie

    Have you considered trying Bubble & Bee’s Pit Putty with Baking Soda? It has the same ingredients as the Homemade Deodorant Recipe #2 (coconut oil, arrowroot powder, baking soda and essential oils), but is harder and comes in a convenient stick. It comes in great scents like Geranium Lime, Jasmine Peppermint, Spearmint Tea Tree, Lemongrass, and Lemon Clove. It’s more pricey than a DIY cream, but it is also USDA certified organic. Just thought I’d mention it- since I use it regularly and love it!

    • Jordan

      Hi Stephanie,

      Thanks so much for recommending that, I haven’t heard of it! But it sounds great and now I want to try every scent!

      • Stephanie

        Happy to pass along the recommendation! If you want to try every scent, I recommend ordering the Pit Putty cream sampler (which came out recently). I don’t like the cream as much as the stick, mainly because I don’t like having to scoop it with my fingers and rub it in, but it works just as good as the stick and it’s an easy, cheap way to try all of their scents. B&B also makes deodorant sprays for layering or on their own. They have a deo “guarantee” which is also really nice- it helps you find the perfect scent and form of delivery for your body chemistry. Good luck with your continued hunt!

      • Jordan

        Wow, this company sounds amazing!!! I can’t wait to try all of these! Thanks so much, Stephanie!

  7. Pingback: The Search is OVER! (For me, at least). The Great Deodorant Hunt, Part 10: DeodoMom | Product Junkies Rehab

  8. Pingback: The Low-Down on Natural Deodorants: [Part 1] | Samvid Beauty

Leave a Reply

