MakeUP SmackDOWN #2: Jane Iredale PureLash vs 100% Pure Mascara

Posted by:  Jordan

Jane Iredale PureLash in Black Onyx

For our second MakeUP SmackDOWN we’re putting a couple of natural mascaras up for comparison: 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara and Jane Iredale PureLash Mascara.  I have already reviewed 100% Pure mascara in more detail in another post, but as you know we’ve been on the hunt for a natural waterproof mascara for a long time, so when I saw that Jane Iredale’s PureLash mascara claimed to be water-resistant, I had to test it out for our readers.  *Note: I even wore a different mascara on each eye several times to get a true comparison on how these hold up against each other throughout the day.  Now that’s devotion to research!

100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara

Clumpiness: Honestly, I go back and forth on this one.  One day Jane Iredale seems to be a bit more clumpy; the next 100% Pure has some clumps.  So this one is really a toss-up because neither of them are perfect, but neither gives you the horrendous 3-giant-spiderly-lashes look either.

Verdict: Tie

Thickening/Lengthening:    I have decently long lashes, but they’re stick straight, light in color, and thin.  So a good mascara does wonders for my eyes and I try to never leave the house without mascara, even if going to the gym.  Although recently pregnancy brain has kicked in and I didn’t realize until late in the day that I completely forgot to apply mascara that morning!  I know that may seem shallow, but that’s an addict for you.  Jane Iredale is more of a natural look mascara–it certainly wouldn’t replace a dramatic mascara, like DiorShow or my old favorite, Maybelline Full ‘N Soft.  100% Pure gives my lashes a bit more oomph–making them stand up a little taller and look fuller.  Need a visual comparison?  This is a creepy closeup picture of my eyes…which eye do you think looks more defined?

Left eye: Jane Iredale, Right eye: 100% Pure

Verdict:  The clear winner here is 100% Pure.

Color choices:  Jane Iredale PureLash has two color choices: black and brown.  Meanwhile, 100% Pure comes in four deliciously named colors:  Black Tea (basic black), Dark Chocolate (I haven’t tried on my eyes, but on my hand it’s a nice dark brown), Blackberry (a dark violet.  It’s so dark it almost looks black, but the woman at Duane Reade sold me on it because she said “it makes brown eyes pop”), and Blueberry (a dark navy–almost black with a blue undertone, which presumably would make blue and green eyes “pop”?)

Verdict:  100% Pure wins again!

End of day smudge factor:  When I first bought the Jane Iredale mascara, I thought for sure that it was going to beat 100% Pure in the smudge factor category.  However, I don’t know if 100% Pure changed their formula, or if the Blackberry color just seems to smudge less than the Black Tea, which I had originally tried.  However my latest test shows that 100% Pure in Blackberry seemed to smudge just a bit less than Jane Iredale PureLash.  Neither were perfect, unfortunately!

Verdict:  My recently purchased 100% Pure in Blackberry wins this category, but not by much.

Water-resistance:  Another creepy close up of my eyes!  What do you think?  Granted, I splashed a lot of water on my face for this test (no rubbing, just splashing)…so when Jane Iredale claims to be water-resistant, I don’t think they had a giant handful of water thrown in your face as a good test.

Left: Jane Iredale, Right: 100% Pure

Verdict:  Tie.  The 100% Pure on the right eye looks a little less raccoon-y, but I think that’s just because the Blackberry color is not as dark as the Jane Iredale in black.

Ease of removal:  Both mascaras wash off very easily with soap and water, though 100% Pure seems to rinse just a little cleaner with less effort.

Verdict:  Again, this is a super close contest, but 100% Pure takes the prize.

Ease of purchase:  In NY I can buy both of these mascaras at local stores: Duane Reade drugstores sell 100% Pure in their select “Look Boutique” locations, and C.O. Bigelow sells Jane Iredale.  My mom bought several Jane Iredale products recently at a local boutique in her town (a suburb of Illinois).  Both mascaras are of course sold at several online retailers, including Amazon.  But I think overall Jane Iredale is sold at more physical locations.

Verdict:  Though both are easily bought online, Jane Iredale seems to be available at more locations nation-wide, so I’m giving this category to her.

Price:  Not a huge price difference…100% Pure is $18 and Jane Iredale PureLash is $15.

Verdict:  Jane Iredale wins by $3

Naturalness:  The ingredients in both formulas pass my strict standards, as well as SkinDeep’s.  Jane Iredale scores a 1 and 100% Pure scores a 2!  However, looking at the ingredient list for 100% Pure’s formula reads like a fruit smoothie, so I’m not concerned.

Verdict:  Really about a tie, but according to SkinDeep Jane Iredale scores a little better on the rating scale.

Overall Winner:  100% Pure wins this installment of MakeUp SmackDown–though not by a landslide!  It was a pretty close contest.  We’d love to hear your feedback on any other natural mascaras we should be trying!

6 Comments

Filed under MakeUP SmackDOWN, Mascara, Product Reviews

6 responses to “MakeUP SmackDOWN #2: Jane Iredale PureLash vs 100% Pure Mascara

  1. I didn’t not know you could get stuff like that at Duane Reade. I live in Queens NY and there aren’t as many Duane Reade’s here as there are in the city. I wish stores like CVS sold more natural products. Right now I can usually only find Burt’s Bees there.

    Anyway, you should try the newest Physicians Formula Organic Wear Jumbo Lash Mascara. It comes in this tube that looks like a leaf. I’m not sure of how clean and natural it is (I threw out the box with the ingredients) although the tube says 100% natural origin. It was around $10 so for a cheap natural solution I find it to be pretty decent. Also you can get physicians formula at most drug stores.

    • Hi Jessica!
      I just bought the Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara, too. I have yet to try it, as it isn’t waterproof and I’m a regular crier :), so I’m waiting for the right moment to try it out. You’ll have to let us know what you think of it!
      As for the Duane Reades, only a handful of them carry 100% Pure and other natural brands– just those “Look Boutique” stores, so keep an eye out for one of them. Check out Duane Reade’s website for locations: http://www.duanereade.com/Default.aspx and go to “store locations” on the top, and check “Look Boutiques.”
      Emily

      • Fiona

        I’m using the same Physician’s Formula at the moment and am pretty happy with it. Not quite cry-proof but pretty smudge resistant under normal conditions!

        And I apparently must rub my eyes a lot or something because I have a hard time keeping eyeshadow on. I LOVE mineral foundation but mineral eyeshadow, while I love how it goes on, it seems it’s almost completely gone in a couple hours. Is this just me? any tips – subject for future column?

      • Jordan

        Hi Fiona,

        I know, I have the same problem with eyeshadows staying on my eyelids–cream ones in particular, but mineral ones as well. I think I just have oily eyelids!! i find that using some eyeshadow primer (and here we are back at our all-natural primer search!) does help extend the life of it, but usually by the end of the day there’s just a faint trace of eyeshadow left on my eyes. I’ve been recently trying out Alima Pure eyeshadows and the color choices are phenomenal! But if I don’t use primer, it’s pretty much gone by mid-afternoon.

  2. I love the comparison idea! I haven’t tried either of these, but my favorite natural mascara of those I’ve tried has been Zuzuluxe’s. I don’t know how it would hold up to direct splashing, but I’ve been caught in the rain/snow with it on and gotten NO smudging or flaking, which is good enough for me! It’s pretty readily available too 🙂

    • Jordan

      Hi Caitie, thanks for recommending this mascara, I haven’t heard of it! It looks great though–it will be next on my list to try!!

Leave a Reply

