Jane Iredale Longest Lash Mascara & PureLash Extender and Conditioner

Posted by:  Jordan

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ve read about our challenges with finding the perfect natural mascara.  Spoiler–this isn’t it.  BUT, I do like it.  Enough to stop my search of the ultimate natural mascara?  Sadly, no.  But lucky for me (and any interested readers), I adore hunting for the perfect product!

I received a sample size of this mascara–as well as the primer, which is reviewed below–and I will say that I’m impressed with how long these samples have lasted me.    I’ve been using them nearly daily for over a month, and I credit that to the packaging.  The squeeze tube that the mascara comes in is similar to a lip gloss tube and it ensures that you use every last bit of mascara.  The mascara formula itself is on the drier side–which doesn’t mean it dries your lashes out–it’s just not a goopy, wet consistency.  Rather than blanketing your lashes with a bunch of heavy wax, it adds a fine coat of color, as if you had a daily lash tint instead of clumpy, thick lashes.  The result is a very natural look, but therein lies my main problem–you have to apply several coats for this natural lash look, and this takes me a few minutes.  In my time-pressed morning (I usually get a 30 minute nap time window to get everything from shower, hair, makeup, dress, etc accomplished before sleeping beauty wakes from her all-too-short naps) I need a mascara that I can swipe on once–twice max–and get on with the other things I need to do.  With this mascara I usually need to apply at least 4 coats before all lashes are sufficient covered.  I’m fine with taking the extra time for multiple coats when I want a dramatic “going out” eye (like I ever do that anymore!), but for an everyday, natural look I need something a little less high maintenance.  The other main issue I have with this mascara is the price: $33 is just too much for me to spend on a mascara, even if it were the holy grail of mascaras!  Also, it claims to be thickening and lengthening.  Lengthening yes; thickening–ehhh, not so much.

Next up is the PureLash Extender & Conditioner.  I like this product because it really does beef up the mascara (though a $33 mascara really shouldn’t require an additional product to make it fabulous).  This primer purportedly conditions lashes and even encourages growth.  I can’t say I’ve noticed a growth difference in the month I’ve used it, though.  The trick to this product is to let it dry for a few minutes before applying the mascara.  So what I do is apply the conditioner first, do the rest of my makeup, and do the mascara last.  If you put the mascara on right after the conditioner, you end up with spider-lashes.  The primer retails for $16.50, which is a bit easier to swallow than the Longest Lash Mascara.  However, I’d ideally like to find a natural mascara that doesn’t require an additional product.  But that’s just me and my mom-to-an-infant simplicity needs these days!

Overall, I like both of these products a lot, but neither is going to end my quest for the ultimate natural mascara.

8 Comments

Filed under Mascara, Product Reviews

8 responses to “Jane Iredale Longest Lash Mascara & PureLash Extender and Conditioner

  1. anneolga

    Tave you ever tried the Terre d’Oc mascara?

  2. Kelly

    Have you tried the Organic Glam mascara by organic Pharmacy? I haven’t tried it yet, but noticed the best of the year rating by Gorgeously Green. Have you found a blush you are happy with?

  3. Rebecca

    I’m using 100% Pure Mascara right now, which I like, but I have oily skin so almost any mascara I use (clean or not so clean) will end up below my eye by the end of the day. I really wish I could find one that didn’t

    • Jordan

      Rebecca, I have the same issue. Some more so than others (The Longest Lash + primer does resist smudging but there was still just a bit by the end of the day). I really like 100% Pure as well!

      • Rebecca

        I’m glad someone out there can sympathize! I’m lucky that I have fairly long natural lashes so I don’t wear mascara often, but I’m always on the lookout for the “one” lol

Leave a Reply

