Off the Wagon (for a day)

posted by: Emily

A few months ago, my daughter and I had the amazing opportunity to model together for a huge American Toy company. (I don’t know if I’m supposed to say who it is, but the company’s initials are Fisher Price!)

Before I got pregnant, I used to model regularly for print ads, but for the last 2 years, between pregnancy and motherhood, I’ve taken some time off modeling. That time frame also coincides with the start of this blog, and with me cleaning up my beauty-junkie act.

So this was the first time I’d worked as a model since going completely green in my beauty routine.  I decided ahead of time that I would just go with whatever products they wanted to use on me for the shoot– after all, it was only for one day, and with a job like this, one really has to just surrender to the makeup artists on set and let them do their thing.

The gorgeous house where we shot the ad. You can see the hair/makeup trailer parked in the driveway.

When we arrived, after a quick stop at Craft Services for a bite to eat, I was sent to hair and makeup. Here’s a picture of me sitting in the hair/makeup trailer, mid-makeover. Look at all those non-natural products!

Image

At first, it was kind of fun to be back in the makeup chair with all my old “friends” like NARS blush in Orgasm, Smashbox primer, and Aveda hair products.  But as time (and makeup) went on, it was hard not to think about all the chemicals that were going on me (and I tried not to let my baby touch my skin or hair for the rest of the day, though that’s kind of impossible!). All the smells of the products and hairspray and lotions were so familiar– brought back a lot of memories– but since it’s been over 2 years since I’ve used chemical products with artificial fragrances and perfumes, I wasn’t used to the strong scents! Smells I used to love seemed overpowering and cloying to me all of the sudden.  I guess I’ve gotten de-scent-sitized.

My co-star was pretty sleepy!

I was a little nervous leading up to the job, wondering if they were going to want to use any products on the baby. I certainly didn’t want any chemicals on her pure, perfect skin!! Luckily, they didn’t even try to use any makeup on my kiddo (thank goodness! and not that I would’ve let them!) but at one point, the makeup artist did try to put a little moisturizer on her cheeks to make them glow. Before they could swipe petroleum on my sweet pea’s face, I whipped out some Weleda Calendula Baby Cream and they were happy to use that. Phew!

Waiting in holding, the hang-out area for the models, before our turn to shoot. We weren't in costume yet, but our "street clothes" matched the decor of the room nicely!

All in all, we had a great time. Everyone was so nice, and it was really fun to be in front of the camera with my daughter! She was a huge hit– the whole crew had a great time trying to make her laugh. Since she thinks fake sneezes are hilarious, we had everyone on set saying “ah-choo,” which did the trick!

It was a long drive home, but we both slept almost the whole way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

