Have/Love/Want 6.13.12

Posted by:  Jordan

Have: Whole Foods 365 Everyday Value Organic Cotton Rounds

After reading the positive review about these cotton rounds on the Glamorganic Goddess, I figured I should really be concerned about not only what products I put on my skin, but also what I put them on with–namely cotton rounds that have been chemically bleached.  I was won over by The Goddess’s arguments about how destructive conventional cotton farming is on the environment, so I’m trying to make a conscious effort to buy more organic cotton.  However, I can’t say I’m won over by these cotton rounds.  I always end up with cotton shreds on my face and fingers, and then waste several seconds trying to remove the stubborn hairy bits stuck to hands.  Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be buying these again.  Does anyone else know of organic cotton rounds that are a bit more sturdy?

Love: All-Natural Boudreaux’s Butt Paste

First, I need to point out the confusion that Emily and I ran into when she asked me for a recommendation for effective diaper rash relief.  We’ve unfortunately had to deal with irritating diaper rash a few times, so I’ve tried a few techniques.  I recommended Boudreaux’s Butt Paste, but I didn’t realize there was a natural version and a non-natural, petroleum-based version.  Emily saw the original formula (non-natural) at her local store and figured, “well, maybe this is something Jordan feels it’s ok to make a concession on since it really cures diaper rash”, even though she was hesitant about the ingredients.  Later that week she mentioned that it had really worked at clearing up her daughter’s diaper rash and I realized that I should write a review of it on the blog.  At that point she said, “but it’s petroleum-based…”  After much discussion on the scent and the color of packaging, we deduced that we had different versions; there must be a natural and a non-natural version.  Thanks to a quick Google search, we discovered that there are, in fact, different versions.   So, if you’re in need of some Butt Paste, we urge you to get the natural version for your sweet baby’s skin.

Ingredients: Aloe Vera, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Castor Oil, Citric Acid, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Peruvian Balsam Oil

Since the tube is rather large, and you only use a small amount on baby’s skin–Bless Google–I did a search for other uses for Boudreaux’s Butt Paste and found a multitude of things for which people had used this cream.  Basically, it’s a cure-all for skin ailments– bug bites, acne, psoriasis, dandruff…the list goes on; someone even said it cured their ingrown toenail (??).  I haven’t tried this cream for anything other than a small breakout I had, which it did seem to relieve the redness and made the pimple smaller overnight.  If you’ll remember, I tried Weleda’s Diaper Cream as a blemish remedy once, as well.  The zinc is really effective in drying any breakouts up, and Boudreaux’s has 16% zinc–a bit more than Weleda’s 12%.  I’d be interested to hear if anyone else has found this cream to be a cure-all for anything!

Want:  Eminence Organics SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizer

I am still madly  in love with all Eminence products.  They’re my Creme de la Mer of organic beauty products–on the expensive side (not as much as Creme de la Mer, thankfully), but so effective and luxurious.  Everything I have tried from them has been an instant favorite.  So it’s not a surprise that Emily and I are both itching to try this (figuratively…if it were in the literal sense, I’d recommend rubbing some Boudreaux’s Butt Paste on that itch).  Tinted moisturizers are my favorite daily beauty product.  I like that it gives me some sun protection (if I’m outside at the park or beach, I’ll apply something more heavy-duty), and evens out my skin tone.  But it feels lightweight like a moisturizer, rather than a foundation on top of a moisturizer, which is heavier than I like–especially during the summer.

As an addendum to my Eminence wish list, my friend, Amy, told me about the amazing Eminence facials she gets at Pretty Please Beauty Studio in the Flatiron District of NYC. I’m trying to find a way to get myself some free time to indulge in a relaxing, organic facial!

 

12 Comments

Filed under Acne treatments, Baby, Cool Companies We Love, Have/Love/Want, Product Reviews

12 responses to “Have/Love/Want 6.13.12

  1. For anyone in the New York area, Duane Reade’s store brand Organic Cotton cosmetic pads are awesome. I, too, have had trouble with other brands of organic rounds– don’t bother with Swisspers– leaving tons of cotton threads behind. So frustrating. But the Duane Reade rounds are awesome. Go figure! –Emily

  2. I loved the butt paste when I was in the diaper rash stage with my kiddlets. I got really into cloth diapers too and that was supposed to eliminate diaper rash…but it didn’t for my kids, so I guess I was one of the lucky few. I started making my own diaper rash cream and also found that just straight Shea butter was awesome as well. Plus it had good uses for other skin things. I got mine from Mountain Rose Herbs.

  3. Rebecca R

    I love Eminence too, I haven’t tried their tinted moisturizer because I feel it would not be light enough for my skin tone. I’m super fair, but I love all their masks and moisturizers!

    • Jordan

      Rebecca, I’m very fair-skinned, as well. I’m hoping to try out this tinted moisturizer as soon as my current Marie Veronique bottle runs out, so I’ll let you know what I think of the lightest shade!

  4. Amy Farley

    I love eminence – I really can’t say enough about them! Definitely recommend going to see Jenny at Pretty Please if you are in the NYC area – I was never in to facials but she has completely changed my skin…it glows like it never has before and I don’t get breakouts anymore! Plus she is the sweetest person, she has created a warm and relaxing environment that I love to go to!

  5. Stephanie

    Another baby product recommendation for you: Aveeno’s new Organic Harvest Baby Lotion. Amazingly (for Aveeno), the product is 95%USDA certified organic! It’s one of the few certified organic baby lotions on the market and one of the only ones I’m aware of that is fragrance- AND alcohol- free. It also works great on my daughter’s dry and sensitive skin. I highly recommend!

    • Jordan

      That’s incredible!! Good for Johnson and johnson for FINALLY starting to get with the program.

      • Stephanie

        I know! I was totally shocked, considering J&J’s awful track record. I was especially surprised considering how difficult it is to make a certified organic lotion since all lotions need an emulsifying agent and a preservative, whereas diaper cream/balm or baby shampoo tend to be self-preserving (or at least inhospitable to bacterial growth). In fact, most “organic” companies stop short of making a completely certified organic lotion and still use some sort of “emulsifying wax NF” or “sodium benzoate” preservative, but Aveeno’s lotion is really pure. Anyway, I am so thrilled with the lotion that I am trying to promote it through internet reviews and word-of-mouth recommendations. I would love to encourage J&J to keep the certified organic products coming!

  6. Pingback: The PERFECT Tinted Moisturizer | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

