I Love You, I Honestly Love You! Sunscreen Review: The Honest Company

Posted by:  Jordan

Unbelievably, another summer is coming to an end.  And so it’s time to recap my favorite sunscreen of the summer from The Honest Co.  This is an incredibly gentle, unscented, effective sunscreen that our whole family has been loving.  My husband even commented on how he liked it (it’s a major sign of how great a product is when it’s comment-worthy from a man!)  As pretty much all physical sunblocks do, it will leave a slight white tint if it’s not rubbed in well.  But, as my husband commented, it rubs in really well for a physical sunblock.

We used this on our baby and ourselves while we were spending a week on a lake this summer.  As any mom knows, wrestling with your child to put on sunscreen is no fun task, no matter which sunscreen you use.  So it’s definitely a bonus when a natural sunscreen is water-resistant because that’s just one less time I have to worry about reapplying (though don’t let that deter you from reapplying every few hours.  That’s important with any sunscreen, and I’m a huge culprit of forgetting to do this while we’re having fun outside.)  My only wish was that the sunscreen had a slightly higher SPF than 20.  SPF 30 is my comfort level for our fair-skinned family.

It goes without saying that the ingredients in this sunscreen are totally natural and safe:

ONLY contains the following 8 organic, natural, and edible-grade ingredients: 25% Zinc Oxide, Eldorado Springs Artesian Water, Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Organic Shea Butter, Vegetable Emulsifying Wax NF, and Vegetable Vitamin E

I subscribe to the Diaper Bundle from the Honest Company (amazing diapers, if you are in the market for chemical-free, plant-based, disposable diapers.  I could go on and on about them, but that’s another post for a non-beauty blog!) so I added this sunscreen to my monthly shipment of diapers.  The price is completely reasonable, $13.95 for 3 oz.  I will definitely be reordering it with our next shipment.  As of right now the sunscreen is only available to purchase through their website, but hopefully in the future they’ll start distributing their amazing natural goods to retailers.  I haven’t tried any of the other personal care products, but I’m anxious to try as many as possible and report back.  From what I’ve heard from other people, and what Emily has experienced, all the products are equally fantastic!

8 Comments

Filed under Baby, Sunscreen

8 responses to “I Love You, I Honestly Love You! Sunscreen Review: The Honest Company

  1. Did you notice if it made your facial skin break out? That’s one of my main concerns with sunscreen!
    Thanks!

  2. Sounds like it has all the ingredients to be a great moisturizer too!

  3. Thank you for this post! I’ve been trying out different natural sunscreens since last summer and haven’t found anything I love. I’ll be sure to give this one a try.

  4. Do you remember how much you paid for it?

    • Jordan

      Hi Nicole, if you buy the sunscreen individually on Honest’s website, it’s $13.95. But I do the Essentials Bundle, where you can choose any 5 products for $35.95, so for me it averages to $7.19 every time I order it. And since I do the diaper bundle as well, it’s free shipping! Pretty good deal and all their stuff is really superb.

  5. Pingback: Black Friday 2013! | Product Junkies Rehab

  6. s

    Spotted and purchased at Costco just recently. Seems really oily but I’m going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

