Vapour’s Vernissage Nail Lacquers

Posted by:  Jordan

There was a time in my young twenties when I would treat myself to a bi-weekly mani/pedi, often with my girlfriends.  Those were carefree days with few responsibilites other than stumbling out of bed and making it to my entry-level job, only to email all day about what happy hour we would attend that night and who wanted to go to the nail salon on Saturday morning with me (morning meant around noon).  Fast forward 10 years and on the rare occasion that I have the time to go indulge in a mani/pedi it’s usually squeezed in during my daughter’s nap and I sit there mentally willing my polishes to dry faster so I can get on with my day.

Times change, of course, and thankfully the nail polish companies are changing with the times.  Most of the big companies like Essie, some of OPI, Nicole, and Zoya are going “3-Free” which means the nail polishes are free from the known carcinogens Toluene, Dibutyl Phthalate (DHB), and Formaldehyde.  One of our favorite organic cosmetic companies, Vapour, recently launched their 3-Free line of polishes, which are incredible (also cruelty free and paraben free).  Now, this doesn’t mean that nail polishes that are 3-Free are completely natural and without concern.  They still contain chemicals, and that’s just the nature of the beast with nail polish.  So I try to limit how often I use polishes these days–polish free most of the time in the winter when my toes are hidden.  But, of course, being a product junkie, I still love my mani/pedis, even when I do them myself, so I’m not giving up on polishes.  Vapour’s cuticle oil, however, IS completely natural and organic so pile on that bad boy daily!

When Vapour sent us 4 of their new colors to sample, along with their cuticle oil and top coat, Emily and I were ecstatic to try them out.  We received Captive (a dark, vampy red), Chill (a beautiful dark” greige”), Eternal (a pale lavender-gray and my personal favorite!), and Trance (an edgy shimmery charcoal).  I really pushed myself with these colors because I NEVER veer from the pink/red/coral nail polish spectrum.  So going grayish lavender was pretty much the wildest thing I’ve done recently. ( I know, like I said, times have changed for this mom who used to be nicknamed Dirty Diana!!)  The Eternal color is now my new favorite; just a little edgier than my typical pale pink, yet still sophisticated.  And great news–each time I ‘ve used these polishes, whether the manicure was done at a salon or by myself at home, they have always lasted at least a week.  And I’m NOT gentle on my manicures.  I always like to bring my own polishes with me when I go to the salon so that I can touch up any chips and prolong my rare treat.  So if you’re like me, and need an update to your polish collection, check out these cool colors and feel better about what your polishes contain.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nail Polish & Remover, Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

