Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For: The Mascara Edition

Posted by:  Jordan

In case the title didn’t give it away, I’ve got another almost-but-not-quite mascara to review.  This time it’s Organic Wear Jumbo Lash Mascara by Physician’s Formula.  I was so thrilled when I found this mascara during my online searches for  natural mascaras free of phenoxyethanol, a preservative found in most mascaras–“natural” ones included.  For example, I was looking at the natural and paraben-free mascaras on sephora.com (yes, that’s a search option!) and every single one of them contained this popular preservative.  It’s everywhere.  So when I saw that this mascara was highly rated from a trusted website, Truth In Aging, AND that it was free of phenoxyethanol, I ran to my local drugstore and was ecstatic to pay only $11 for it, when I’m used to paying double that for natural mascara.  Never mind that my husband, when seeing the new package on our bathroom sink, asked if I got my latest mascara at the Dollar Store (it does lend a certain cheapness to the packaging with the reflective neon green plastic in the shape of a leaf.)

My hopes were high as I was applying it–the brush was big and thick, the formula smooth and clump-free.  I was getting more and more excited by the second.  Everything seemed to be perfect!  Sadly, it let me down in the first hour when I glanced in the mirror and saw a ring of black smudges under my eyes…the tell-tale “raccoon eyes”.  Ugh, after only an hour????  And it’s not like this was a sweltering day.  I’m afraid to see how this mascara would hold up in the summertime if it was melting toward my already dark under eye circles in November.  

Ah well…try another, I guess.  Suggestions welcome!

 

BREAKING NEWS UPDATE: As suggested in the comments, I tried using Jane Iredale’s PureLash Extender & Conditioner under this mascara and I believe I’ve found natural mascara nirvana with this combination.  Yes, it requires you to buy two products instead of one, thereby making my mascara more costly and it takes more time to apply, but if you’re concerned about the ingredients in your mascara, this combination is the cleanest I’ve found.  Plus, the addition of the Jane Iredale primer makes my lashes look thicker and longer!

12 Comments

Filed under Mascara, Product Reviews

12 responses to “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For: The Mascara Edition

  1. Have you tried 100% Pure? I have many customers that absolutely LOVE it! Here’s the link with full ingredient disclosure, http://bit.ly/387PureMascara. Please contact me if interested in reviewing it!

  2. amy

    I love 100% pure but when I moved down to swampy DC I found the humidity quickly turned it in to raccoon eyes. I read about trying Jane Iredale lash conditioner/extender under 100% pure and it made a huge difference for me. It now looks great and stays on! I would highly recommend trying it – and Jordan it might even be the secret to using up some of the other failed mascaras in your drawer!

    • Jordan

      You’re right, Amy…I remember reading this tip before and I didn’t do it because I was hoping to find a one-step method with all-natural mascara, but I guess that’s just a dream. I will need to start doing this two-step method and stop being lazy! Sounds like it’s the way to go.

  3. I love the 100% Pure mascara too! Also Tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes is amazing as well.

  4. Has anyone tried Couleur Caramel? Also looks promising.

  5. I was so excited when I read the title of this post! I struggle with mascara – not just for natural ingredients, but because my eyes are super dry and sensitive (and I refuse to use restasis.) I was happy to see the picture of the green neon tube! This is what I’ve come to rely on. Although it does smudge very easily, it does stay all day and it doesn’t irritate my eyes. I’ve tried EVERY other mascara I could get my hands on!! So I know it may not have fully satisfied you, but at least it’s on the short list, right?? 🙂 Good luck!!

    • Jordan

      Hi Ashley, you’re totally right. It’s definitely on the short list. If it would just stay put, it would be perfection!

  6. I had the same issue with this mascara. Have you tried their last boosting version though? http://www.physiciansformula.com/en-us/productdetail/eyes/mascara/07561.html

    I haven’t had any problems with it yet, and I’ve been using it for a few weeks. A couple coats and I get the same look as the CoverGirl Lash Blast (my favorite mascara for YEARS). Assuming all goes well with it for the next month, I’ll do a review on my blog too.

    YAAAAY natural mascara! 🙂

  7. Pingback: MakeUP SmackDOWN: Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Lash Boosting vs. Benecos Maximum Volume Mascara | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

