Green (with envy), Volume 1

Posted by: Emily

When I first heard about Birchbox, from my cool friend, Anna, a few months ago, I became very jealous. She, and about one-hundred thousand other people, receive deluxe samples of fabulous beauty products every month, for a small membership fee, along with discounts, tips, and other special offers. Since Birchbox only occasionally includes natural or organic products– they have sent samples of great  natural brands like Vapour and Dr. Hauschka in the past– it means that, if I joined, I’d be throwing away most of the offerings every month, from old temptations like Kiehl’s and Smashbox. This beauty junkie doesn’t need that temptation.

I started feeling pretty sorry for myself. It seemed everywhere I looked, other subscription companies were popping up. One could pay a monthly fee to receive kids’ toys, women’s clothes, men’s grooming products, baby products, you name it, there’s a delivery “box” company for it. So I began looking for a beauty box that delivered only natural and organic brands– something like Birchbox, but only full of things a Product Junkie’s Rehab devotee would use. Four such companies were nice enough to send me sample boxes to try out and tell you about! Lucky me– I was no longer green with envy. Just green, with a lot of little samples to try!

Over the next few weeks, I will be posting reviews of each of the boxes, one at a time. I will give you a brief description of each box I received, why you might want to subscribe, how much it costs, and my favorite product from each box. (Since the samples in each box each month are different, this doesn’t mean they’re products you’ll necessarily receive in the boxes, but it’ll give you an idea of the kinds of things the company delivers).

First up: Green Grab Bag

Image

Price: $15/month for AT LEAST 6 samples (I got 7)

Shipping: Free

Description from their website:  A Fun, Affordable Way to Try the Best Natural Beauty Products Before You Buy! At least Six Samples Delivered to Your Door for Just $15 a Month and Shipping is Free! White Apricot has been covering natural, organic and vegan beauty productsfor five years. We like to think w´re experts at reporting on all of the best of the best in skin care, haircare, makeup and fragrance. But, we got to thinking – why should we get to have all the fun?! Why shouldn´t you be able to experience the products too. After all, you shouldn´t have to spend a lot of money on products you haven´t tried. So, we created Green Grab Bag! For just $15 a month and free shipping, we hope you´ll join us! What makes this even more fun is that every month is a surprise subscription box, with at least six minis delivered right to your door!

My favorite product:  GGB introduced me to EO Certified Organic Deodorant Spray, and I’m hooked! This is the best product I’ve ever tried in this category, what I like to call “pit perfumes”– they are marketed as stand-alone deodorant sprays, but like Weleda’s Wild Rose spray that I love, and Bubble and Bee’s that Jordan reviewed, I find that they work best when used WITH an actual deodorant (you all know I love DeodoMom). The EO spray they sent me is Vetiver, and I can’t get enough of it’s vetiver, bergamot, grapefruit, geranium, lavender and cedarwood scented blend. This was my gateway drug to EO products– I now love their hand sanitizer sprays, gels, etc. and fully recommend this California Certified Organic Farmers-approved brand.

My take: I got 6 great beauty products, all from brands of which I had not heard before, and each came with a discount code, all but one for 20% off (the other was for 15% off, so not too shabby!) the full-sized product online. I think it’s a fantastic deal, and the price is great. A nice way to try out new brands. I also got in my box a sample of Mighty Leaf Tea, also with a 20% off coupon, so this box isn’t solely beauty products– you might also learn about other natural/organic things! Bonus!!

Here are the other 3 boxes I’ll be reviewing in the coming weeks. Stay Tuned!

Conscious Box

Beauty Box 5

and my new favorite, Goodebox

Check them out, and I will post reviews soon. I will also be reviewing sample offers from Spirit Beauty Lounge (which offers an incredible deal, free shipping, $10 towards your next purchase, and you get to pick your own samples!!– this one is the best) and the Future Favorites box from Hip Apotheca.

2 Comments

Filed under Cool Companies We Love, Giveaways/Freebies/Discounts, Natural Beauty Tips

2 responses to “Green (with envy), Volume 1

  1. Awesome! I’m looking forward to this series. I really enjoy my Natural Beauty Box . The coolest company they’ve introduced me to so far is the All Natural Face – you have to check her out – you won’t believe the prices along with the quality ingredients. I’m now wearing her eyeliner gel in Black Pearl everyday.
    With all these samples every month I can pretty much live off the box and still have some left over for little gifts, although its hard to resist trying everything myself.

Leave a Reply

