“Don’t it always seem to go…

… that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.” — Joni Mitchell

Posted by: Emily

This post, especially the way I’m using the quote in the title, feels a little frivolous and silly now in light of the terrible tragedy in Boston this afternoon. But I have learned, as I am sure you have, that the only way to go on in life, past these horrors and events, is to, well, go on. So, we go on.

Image

A few days ago, I was trying to clean the top of my dresser, and knocked one of my 14 lip balms off of it into the deep, dark, unreachable corners behind it. This dresser belonged to my great grandparents, and to say it is heavy and unmovable is a tremendous understatement. I got down on the floor with a flashlight (okay, it was really just my iPhone) shining under the bureau to try and see where the lip balm had gone. I didn’t see it anywhere. 

So I did a little inventory of the remaining dresser-top balms to see who had been lost. There were the 2 Splurge Skincare Lip Buttahs I adore (Lemon and Peppermint), the Vapour Organic Beauty Lux Organic Lip Conditioner, a Revolution Organics All-Over Body Balm that I use exclusively for my lips, (because seriously, I can’t use one on my elbows and then on my mouth– ew!), a Weleda Everon Lip Balm, and… you get the idea. I have a lot of lip balms. 

I quickly realized which one was missing– my Honest Company Organic Lip Balm in Lavender Mint. (See– this is what I get for cleaning! A lost lip balm! Not fair!)

Given that I still had more than a dozen lip balms within arms’ reach of my bedside, I decided, seeing that the Lavender Mint was nowhere to be found, that I could, and would have to, just go on with my life. 

What was I thinking? Over the course of the next several days, I found myself reaching specifically for that Lavender Mint Honest Lip Balm over and over and over. I had never realized, till I dropped it in a dusty, cobwebby corner, how much I ADORED it. 

This weekend, determined and armed with an actual flashlight, I got down on my stomach and reached my fingertips into the corners behind the bureau. And, when I came up with nothing, I REACHED UNDER THERE AGAIN! I pulled out some dust bunnies, and, finally, my beloved Lavender Mint Lip Balm. 

All this to say that it is really terrific. I am a big fan of all things Honest Company, and of this scent combo. Luckily for me, Honest also just released the scent in a soy candle! (100% GMO-free, no synthetic fragrances, hand-poured in small batches, etc– basically, PERFECT. I bought the Gardenia Jasmine one– wow– but clearly I need the Lavender Mint! Also comes in Orange Vanilla!)

Image

Another new favorite, Nourish Organics, has a Lavender Mint collection. My favorite product is the Organic Body Butter, but you really can’t go wrong with Nourish. Clearly, this Lavender Mint trend is catching on, and I’m really happy about it. 

In honor of Earth Day approaching, Nourish sent us a body butter to give away to one lucky reader! It’s not Lavender Mint, but as I said above, you can’t go wrong with anything from Nourish! The flavor is Wild Berries, and I promise you will adore the texture of this amazing, ultra-hydrating body butter. 

Image

Comment below to win the body butter! In your comment, tell us if you’ve come across a Lavender Mint scented product, or, if not, what your favorite scent combos are these days.

Winner will be announced at the end of this week. More contests to come! And all our love goes out to the people of Boston today and always. (Especially to Boston-based Splurge Skincare and Gloss48.com).

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to ““Don’t it always seem to go…

  1. ginger g.

    I haven’t used lavender mint before, but I’m liking this green tea lotion I have from Shea Moisture!

  2. One of my favorite scents these days is bergamot. Thanks!

  3. Great story Emily! We have all been there. Always love the new products you and J recommend.

  4. Gloria

    Haven’t come across Lavender Mint yet but I love lavender and lavender-vanilla!

  5. Pingback: LipGloss: The Gateway Drug for Natural Beauty Junkies | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

