MakeUP SmackDOWN: Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Lash Boosting vs. Benecos Maximum Volume Mascara

Posted by:  Jordan

This edition of a MakeUP SmackDOWN is comparing two natural mascaras.  The contenders are:

Benecos Mascara  Benecos Natural Mascara

VS.

Physicians Formula Organic Wear Lash Boosting Mascara

Physicians Formula Organic Wear Lash Boosting Mascara

Not long ago, I review Physicians Formula Jumbo Lash Mascara, but after getting a tip from a reader that the Lash Boosting formula seemed to smudge less, I decided to give that one a shot to compare.  So really this SmackDOWN is comparing all three of those mascaras, but you can read the detailed review of the Jumbo Lash version here.

Physicians Formula Organic Wear Jumbo Lash mascara

On with the competition!

Ease of Application:  Physicians Formula is the clear winner here (both Jumbo Lash and Lash Boosting versions) due to the big, fat brush and smooth formula.  The Benecos brush is pretty standard but it requires a few coats.  

The Look:  I prefer the look of Physicians Formula to Benecos.  Between the two PF versions I slightly lean toward the Jumbo Lash version (in the metallic neon green tube) because it makes my lashes extra full.  The Lash Boosting version doesn’t have quite the same volumizing effect that the Jumbo Lash one does, but both lengthen and define my lashes nicely.  Benecos does a great job too, but just gives a more natural look.  Also, I find that Benecos clumps slightly, so I often have to run my eyelash comb through my lashes after the mascara dries.

Ingredients:

Benecos

 Water, Grain Grain Alcohol*, Beeswax*, Glycerin, Polyglyceryl-5 Laurate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Acacia Senegal Gum, Polyglyceryl-3 Stearate, Carnauba Wax*, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Jojoba Seed Oil*, p-Anisic Acid, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Sunflower Seed Oil*, Sodium Hydroxide, Limonene, Vitamin E, Fragrance (Natural),Aloe Vera Leaf Juice Powder*, Citral, Linalool, Iron Oxides

* indicates Certified Organic Ingredients
** for natural essential oils

Physicians Formula Lash Boosting

Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Water*, Glycerin+, Iron Oxides, Water, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Beeswax*Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract*, Tapioca Starch*, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnuba) Wax*, Oryza Sativa, (Rice) Powder*, Jojoba Esters, Stearic Acid, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Yogurt Extract*, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Saccharomyces/Iron Ferment, Saccharomyces/Magnesium Ferment, Saccharomyces/Silicon Ferment, Saccharomyces/Zinc Ferment, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil*, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract*, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract*, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract*, Glyceryl Caprylate, Glycerin, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Superoxide Dismutase, Soybean Peroxidase, Leuconostoc Ferment Filtrate, Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate, May Contain: Titanium Dioxide

I’ll leave that up to the reader to make an informed decision on which ingredient list they prefer, but I’m feeling good about both of these mascaras.  Both are free of phenoxyethanol, which is rare to find in mascaras–even natural ones.  So that makes me happy and I’m declaring this round a tie.

The Wear (or How Do These Mascaras Hold Up and Will I Look Like a Heroin Addict By The Time Happy Hour Rolls Around?):  To test this round out I wore Physicians Formula on one eye and Benecos on the other.  My rule was that I wasn’t allowed to wipe under my eyes at all the entire day so I’d be able to see which mascara smudged less after a full day of wear.  The winner here was Benecos!  There was hardly any smudging at all!!  This is clearly a great everyday, need-to-get-ready-quickly-and-get-out-the-door mascara.  Physicians Formula wasn’t horrible , but there was definitely some noticeable Raccoon Eyes (Also, in regards to the reader who found that the Lash Boosting formula smudged less for her than the Jumbo Lash one, I didn’t find one smudged less than the other for me, unfortunately).

Price: Benecos is $16. 49 on Amazon whereas Physicians Formula is $9.95 on drugstore.com.  You can also find Physicians Formula products at most local drugstores.

The Overall Winner:  I’m going to have to go with Physician’s Formula, but I think I like the Jumbo Lash (in the green tube) a little bit better than the Lash Boosting (in the black tube).

Jane Iredale PureLash Extender and Conditioner

The Wild Card: Applying Jane Iredale’s PureLash Conditioner prior to any natural mascara makes it stay on all day, smudge-free, and gives my lashes an extra oomph.  So really, I’m declaring this as the all-time winner for my favorite natural mascara (even though it’s really a pre-mascara)!  It’s worth the extra time and expense to not worry that you look like a true Junkie by the end of the day.

6 Comments

Filed under MakeUP SmackDOWN, Mascara, Product Reviews

6 responses to “MakeUP SmackDOWN: Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Lash Boosting vs. Benecos Maximum Volume Mascara

  1. I’ve been really curious about the PureLash Conditioner, but I wasn’t sure if it would be worth the extra step. I know it wasn’t a huge hit with you, but my favorite mascara is still Zuzu Luxe…sometimes I do wish it had a little more oomph though! I’ll have to give the PureLash a try 🙂

  2. likequietdreams

    I love this post! You should do more of these smackdowns! I have the hardest time with mascara smudging on me… even the commercial stuff leaves a raccoon mask on me so I’m definitely going to give the PureLash a try!

  3. I have tried so many mascaras and initially fell in love with the Covergirl Lashblast Original (orange tube.) I loved the brush and the formula. The only problem I ever had with it was that it stung my eyes. When I decided to “go green” with my beauty routine, I tried this mascara and was AMAZED. It is perfect. There is literally nothing bad about it, and I have noticed that it actually has lengthened my lashes!

  4. Just like the tube, the wand of the Organic Wear lash boosting mascara is also quite bulky. The size reminds me of Covergirl Lashblast but the core is thicker and each of the abundant individual bristles (made of stiff plastic instead of rubber) is rather short (compared to most mascara I have tried) that I poked my eyes and left smudges quite a few times when I was trying to work it from the roots. The smudge can be removed effortlessly with just a bit of water alone, thanks to (or not?) the non-waterproof formula.

  5. Well, the Jane Iredale’s PureLash really does work! I have a certain mascara that was unwearable because it smudged so much. And now, I can use it.

    It’s interesting because that’s not even what the Jane Iredale product is advertised for. I would never have thought to try it if not for this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

