Heavy Metal

Posted by: Emily

Here is a really interesting, scary study about lead and other metals in lipsticks.
http://m.motherjones.com/environment/2013/05/study-lead-metals-lipstick-top-20

vapour lips

People often ask me what the big deal is about chemicals and other “bad stuff” in cosmetics. This article is a great example of why what is in our makeup matters to our health. Please read and share.

siren-TORRIDrev

In honor of this article and of making our makeup more healthy, we’re giving away a Vapour Organic Siren Lipstick to one lucky reader. Comment below to enter, and share on Facebook and twitter for extra chances to win. Contest ends Sunday, May 12 at 11:59 pm. Good Luck!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Heavy Metal

  1. Jen

    Wow, good & scary article. Thanks for posting. I am passing it to all my friends.
    & please enter me for giveaway, too!

  2. If this contest is open to Canada, please enter me. I’ve been really curious about Vapour products and haven’t had a chance to try any yet.

    What bothers me about this article is that the metals can be found in natural lip products like Burt’s Bees as well. So maybe that means they are everywhere in our environment and it’s impossible to avoid exposure. They are probably in our food and water as well. Is lipstick really a major source? Can natural lipsticks avoid the metals? Questions!

  3. Would love to win this, haven’t tried Vapour yet but really want to.

  4. One of my friends posted a similar article and her friend told her that lead isn’t a carcinogen and therefore isn’t that bad. Personally, I think that something that could result in seizures and miscarriages is still pretty bad. Not to mention, the other metals mentioned in the article that actually are possible carcinogens!

  5. Jane

    Wow! I am a brand new reader, but I sure am going to think twice before buying my next lipstick. Thanks for posting 🙂

  6. Kelly

    Most people are completely ignorant of toxins in ANY product. And sadly, most don’t care. They just want to look “pretty.” Unfortunately, they don’t see the actual harm its doing to them. Ask yourself, why is cancer so rampant these days? Unfortunately, the FDA barely regulates any chemicals in topical products. Europe has much stricter standards for topical products as well as food. Big Pharma wants to keep us sick to keep them rich.

    I love EWG and use it as a reference constantly. I try to use as few chemicals as possible. Organic foods, organic bedding and sheets, I never paint my nails, I use all gluten free topical products that are as “clean” as possible. Its tricky because many things say “natural” and they have only one natural ingredient. Know your toxins! Read labels carefully! You only have one body.

    Also, I’ve always wanted to try the Vapor lipstick line, but was unsure how moisturizing it might be. Thanks!

  7. Amy Beinfest

    Please put my name on the hat.?I’d love to try Vapour!

  8. Gina

    Wow! Gorgeous color! Thanks for this article, all women should definitely know what’s in their cosmetics!

  9. Dena

    the list of nasties in lipstick is scary. I just did a purge to get rid of some I has that were listed as having more lead etc. Also trying to replace with more natural lip products and would LOVE to try a Vapour product!

  10. scentualsoundtracks

    I’d love to win!

  11. I saw that article too. Lead in lipstick isn’t super new information, but it’s still scary every time the issue comes up!

  12. Maria

    Enter me!:)

  13. Ginger G.

    OH booo! It looks like I missed this! haha That’s what I get for not checking my emails I guess : ) Thanks for sharing the article!

Leave a Reply

