You Smell Like a Dream(sicle)

Posted by:  Jordan

Dreamsicle

Ever since I started using Earth Mama Angel Baby shampoo/body wash a year ago on my daughter, I’ve been obsessed with all things orange-vanilla scented.  The following are the things I’ve loved, liked, and would not-so-much buy again:

 

Shampoo/Body Wash from Honest

Honest body wash When I ran out of my Earth Mama Angel Baby body wash/shampoo, I decided to try Honest’s two-in-one version to see how it compared.  I love that it’s much cheaper (if you do the Family Bundle it comes to about $7 since it’s super sudsy a little bit goes a long way, so it will last forever).  I also love that it’s tear-free, whereas the Earth Mama Angel Baby is not.  I do miss the self-foaming dispenser of the Earth Mama Angel Baby body wash/shampoo, especially when using it on my daughter.  I even tried to put some of the Honest product into the EMAB dispenser but it was too thick and wouldn’t properly self-foam.  I also like how EMAB smells a little stronger of orange-vanilla.  But if you like a subtle scent, then the shampoo/body wash from Honest would be your best bet.

 

Body Oil from Honest

honest body oil 2 Also from Honest is the orange-vanilla scented body oil.  I love how this moisturizing oil absorbs quickly and is an amazing, sweet-smelling moisturizer for both my daughter and myself.  Like the body wash, it’s also on the low end of the smell-o-meter.  That said, after showering with the body wash and moisturizing with the oil, I can still smell a soft, subtle orange-vanilla scent on my skin 8 hours later.

 

Blood Orange & Vanilla Body Wash by John Masters

John Masters blood orange vanilla body wash I received a sample of this body wash and from the sounds of it (plus the beautiful packaging), I was imagining this body wash would be the more sophisticated, grown-up version of my Dreamsicle love affair.  It’s bright and citrusy thanks to the dash of grapefruit with the blood orange; and the bourbon vanilla adds a sweet, seductive undertone.  However, there was something about the smell that reminded me of something and I couldn’t quite place until it suddenly hit me after using it several times: Sweet Tarts.  From that point on, I no longer felt like I was having my grown-up love affair with orange-vanilla.

 

 

 

Orange-Vanilla Soy Candle from Honest

Honest orange vanilla candle Clearly Honest likes this scent as much as I do!  However, this is a rare miss from Honest since this soy candle smells like nothing.  I even lit it in my small bathroom and I still couldn’t smell it.  I love that it’s made with clean burning non-GMO soy and has no synthetic fragrances (ever since switching to all-natural products, I have serious aversion to all artificial scents.  Instant headache.), I just wish it had a bit more punch to it.

 

Orange Vanilla Pit Putty Cream from Bubble & Bee

Bubble and Bee orange vanilla pit putty cream I’ve saved my favorite dreamy(sicle) product for last…THIS DEODORANT IS MY NEW FAVORITE DEODORANT!  I’ve tried deodorants from Bubble & Bee before when I purchased the sampler pack, so I knew I loved the deodorant creams, but I hadn’t tried the orange-vanilla scent (I don’t think it was an option back when I was sampling them, otherwise I would have been all over that).  So what’s so amazing about this deodorant?  For starters, the scent is so Dreamsicley wonderful.  And applying it feels like a spa treatment because the cream’s consistency is super moisturizing, soft, and spreadable.  I honestly think my arm pits breathe a sigh of relaxation as I massage this silky cream into them.  But of course, this is deodorant we’re talking about, and the #1 criteria is that it makes you not smell like you live on a commune.  This stuff really works all day long.  And I put it to the test, hauling a toddler/diaper bag/stroller through the subway on the worst of the NY humid 90 degree days a few weeks ago.  I still smelled sweetly citrusy by the end of the day.  Of course, since it’s all natural it’s not an antiperspirant, so you will still sweat.  You’ll just smell like a Dreamsicle when you do!

If you enjoy this  summery scent as much as I do, let me know what all-natural Dreamsicle-scented products I should try next!

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Cleansers, Deodorants, Moisturizers, Product Reviews

One response to “You Smell Like a Dream(sicle)

  1. Amy

    I’m wearing the orange vanilla put putty right now! It is my absolute favorite and even withstands the swampy DC heat and humidity I sweat away in every day!

Leave a Reply

