Summer Beauty Musings

Posted by:  Jordan

 

Summer is incredibly almost half over and we’ve been doing a lot of traveling to see grandparents, swimming, scooter-ing, and playground time.  Simple summer pleasures with a 2.5 year old.  Summer is also a time for a more relaxed beauty routine.  Here are a few things I’ve been loving this summer.

Beachy summer hair 

Josie Maran Bohemian Waves Argan Hair Mist I’ve been growing out my hair for the past year and this texturizing salt spray with argan oil from Josie Maran is, hands-down, my favorite.  (Honorable mention goes to John Masters’ Sea Mist with its lovely lavender scent and PreGame Texturizing Spray from A Beautiful Life.)  I just spray my hair with the salt spray of my choice.  As I mentioned, the Josie Maran one seems to work best for me, giving my hair a little extra volume and texture.  I then either let it air dry, or blow dry with a diffuser.  Once dry, I apply a little (and I mean a LITTLE amount…it’s heavy and can weigh hair down; especially fine hair like mine) Intelligent Nutrients Styling Pomade to the ends.  Finally, I spritz and scrunch the waves with Intelligent Nutrients Perfect Hold Hair Spray.  It’s the best natural hair spray I’ve found!  I’d love to try all of the styling products from Intelligent Nutrients, as I’m won over after trying those two.

Intelligent Nutrients perfect hold hairspray

 

Sunscreen, of course

My bag is packed with 3 different types of sunscreens for me and my daughter when we’re outside all day during the summer.  My favorite body sunscreen is still the traditional SPF 30 cream sunscreen from The Honest Company.  I was ridiculously excited to get my hands on the new spray sunscreen from Honest, but I’ve been a little underwhelmed.  It feels (and looks) like applying white spray paint to my daughter’s arms and legs.  There’s nothing terribly wrong with it, it’s just not as convenient as I was hoping.    My favorite must-have sunscreen for my bag is the new Refill-Me Refillable Loose Powder Brush which I like to fill with the Powder Me SPF Dry Sunscreen.  It’s the ultimate in convenience for a quick on-the-go sunscreen touch-up on our face, chest, shoulders, and my stroller-pushing hands (“Don’t forget to put sunscreen on the tops of your hands so they don’t get old-lady sun spots all over them, Jordan” my mom is constantly reminding me).

Jane Iredale Refill Me brush

 

Hope everyone is having a safe and beautiful summer!  Looking forward to getting a little more “done up” this Fall, but for now I’m definitely enjoying Summer’s easy beauty routine.  Please share what natural beauty products you’ve been loving this Summer!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

