Never Say Never

Posted by: Emily

A while ago, I renounced lip gloss. I know. LIP GLOSS! Who could give it up?! I thought I could. And then Jordan and I were each gifted some new products from Jane Iredale’s fall line, City Nights, including PureGloss Lip Gloss in Kir Royale.

City Nights, “a sophisticated collection of rich autumn color”

Obviously, I had to at least try it. For you guys. It’s basically my job, right? Well, I’m not going to lie. I love it. Lip Gloss may still be impractical and ephemeral and gooey and messy. But man, for those moments when you put it on and go do something fun, it just feels fabulous. Plus, this one is just the right color– a nice plum that looks good on ALL skin tones– and has a nice dose of shimmer (my favorite thing)!

17548

PureGloss Lip Gloss in Kir Royale

This got me thinking. What other things are out there in my “never” pile? What absolute pronouncements were keeping me from life’s small joys?

I started trying things I’d previously shunned.

  • Oil instead of moisturizer. I’m a fan of facial oils, but I’d only ever used them in addition to face creams. Then I read this: The Most Important Healthy Beauty Swap You Can Make, on WellandGood.com. It features advice from Spirit Demerson, of SpiritBeautyLounge.com, one of my favorite websites. Read it and prepare to have your mind changed.
  • Filling in my brows. I used to think it just never looked natural or made sense. Then, while trying to grow my brows a little thicker, I used Vapour Organic Beauty’s Mesmerize Eyeliner in Truffle, a light-ish brown, as a brow pencil. Never say never, people. It’s good stuff.
  • Creme blush. I’ve tried many of them. My face eats cream blush for lunch. Seriously, I put it on and it’s gone two seconds later. But I have found an exception: In Touch Highlighter (also a Jane Iredale product). 13106Yes, it’s billed as a highlighter. But I’m the new me, who uses bronzer as lip stick, and eye shadow as blush. So I tried it as blush. Never say never, right? And this product is just a miracle. I like the shade “Comfort,” pictured above. It’s the perfect golden peachy-pink. And it stays on my face. Amazing.

Extra good news for YOU: This miracle deodorant cream IS ON SALE NOW! Today it’s 25% off, but the sale amount decreases every day, and stock is running low, so act fast! Jordan and I placed a huge joint order yesterday that we hope will keep us in deodorant for the next year. That’s how much we love it. I also ordered the Pit Primer, which I totally adore, FYI. It is great for between showers, a little extra support on important days, or just a little burst of freshness anytime. Kind of a miracle itself!

pit_putty_primer_web_sized__25939.1411853870.1280.1280

So, in the spirit of Never-Say-Never-ing, now I have to go examine my stance on all sorts of other things. Apparently, it’s time to rethink minivans, dill pickles, cruise vacations, reality TV, fish tacos, having a third child, beer, Instagram, cottage cheese… Who knows?!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

