Calendula Balms are the bomb

posted by: Emily

I kind of hate saying something is “the bomb” because, for something that’s supposed to be positive, it has kind of violent connotations. But let’s look past that.

Today I want to present some calendula balms to you. Monday was Labor Day, and while it’s still 92 degrees and this week my two hometowns’ rival baseball teams, the Baltimore Orioles (go O’s) and the NY Yankees (boo!) faced off in the Bronx, summer is on its way out. I hate to admit it. But it’s going to happen.

So as we face the inevitable colder weather that will come to all but the lucky few who live in perfect climates where winter doesn’t happen (why don’t I live in California?!) we will be faced with my nemesis: Dry Skin. Well, the Yankees and Dry Skin.

Below I want to list the ingredients for 4 Balms I’ve tried and liked, all including Calendula, which is what unites them and separates them from other balms and creams on the market. These are all waterless products, which, in my mind, is what makes a balm. You can read below, but you will see that they all have pretty similar ingredients: Calendula plus some other oils, beeswax, essential oils. There are some exceptions and additions, but they all have the same basic contents. They all smell similar, which is what first made me think of comparing them.

They are all marketed differently– eye balm, baby cream, all the same– which should be noted, and they can be divided into two categories by texture: Indie Lee and Splurge are both little pots with sort of hard oils you rub to melt, and the other two are tubes– more like Vaseline texture, without petroleum obviously. So a lot of this comes down to personal preference of what texture you like, and, of course, how much you want to pay!

The Indie Lee one is the most expensive, but it’s also the only one that lists Calendula oil as the first ingredient. I’m guessing Calendula oil is expensive. So it you want the most concentrated Calendula Balm, this is the one for you. I have it. I got it on sale which is the only reason I bought it. It’s fine, but for my money, I’d just as soon save some dough and have a little less Calendula concentration. But that’s just me!

The benefit of a tube vs a pot is that, if you’re a germ-phobe like me, you don’t have to obsessively wash your hands before using some balm from a tube like you do when dipping your fingers in a little pot, but I can get past that because I like the texture.

The bottom line is this: my favorite of these 4 is the Splurge Skincare Melted Buttah. I love the little pot, the texture is, well, da bomb, and you absolutely cannot beat the $10 price tag. It’s the perfect little pick me up or gift. Toss one in your purse– in each purse you own at this price!– and you’ll have moisturized lips, cuticles, whatever. It’s my go-to gift lately for hostess presents, people I don’t know well, men who need moisture, etc. And I LOVE Splurge Skincare. Small-batch, owned by 2 women, it’s the real deal. The kind of company I like to support.

Below are all 4 options, because you have to have options! Enjoy!

meltedrose1-300x300

Splurge Skincare: Melted Buttah $10 for .3 oz

Ingredients: organic castor oil (ricinus communis), red raspberry seed oil (rubus idaeus), beeswax (cera alba), babassu oil (orbignya oleifera), organic jojoba oil (simmondsia chinensis), calendula (calendula officinalis flower extract) infused in olive fruit oil (olea europaea), essential oil blend

calendulaeyebalm_webupdate_full2

Indie Lee: Calendula Eye Balm, $42 for .5 oz

INGREDIENTS: Calendula Officinalis Flower (calendula) Oil, Beeswax, Magnifera Indica (mango) Seed Butter, Lavandula Angustifolia (lavender Oil, Squalane (olive derived), Persea gratissima (avocado) Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E)

imgres

Honest Company: Healing Balm $12.95 for 3 oz

Ingredients: Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil*, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Calophyllum Tacamahaca (Tamanu) Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract*, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Oil*, Tocopherol (Non-GMO)

calendula-weather-protection-cream

Weleda Calendula Weather Protection Cream (it’s called a cream, but, let’s face it, it’s a balm– it is waterless).

$13.00 for 1 oz

Ingredients:Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Lanolin, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Calendula Officinalis (Calendula) Flower Extract, Fragrance (Parfum)*, Limonene*, Linalool*, Geraniol*, Citral*.
* from natural essential oils

There’s your roundup, folks. I’m going to keep denying that colder weather is coming. I’ll be the one outside in a dress, trying to soak up the fading light. But at least, with these balms, I’ll have really nice cuticles….

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Calendula Balms are the bomb

  1. Pingback: 2015 Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals from our Favorite Natural Beauty Brands | Product Junkies Rehab

Leave a Reply

