The Big Natural Deodorant Question

posted by: Emily

In the last few weeks, I’ve gotten three separate emails from readers about natural deodorant. It’s a popular question, and although we’ve posted about it in the past, it’s something we should probably address perpetually and often! New options come out regularly, and our tastes change as we change and try new things.

Here’s the current info on your Product Junkies’ deodorant preferences.

 

 

What I currently use:
61-qorBFfmL._SY679_.jpg
1. First I layer on a swipe of DeodoMom  (I like the roll-on best).
It’s basically milk of magnesia. I’ve used it for years. It really works, and I love it. It’s unscented, which is especially great if you have a newborn baby or don’t love essential oils.
pit_putty_jar_2_spear_tea_web_sized__34570.1411855844.1280.1280
2. Then I layer on Bubble and Bee Pit Putty cream in Jasmint or Spearmint Tea Tree for a little scent and extra protection. I like most of these scents– you can order samples. **Important– it’s the CREAM not the stick!** I think the cream is the easiest to apply and is the most effective.
I find that combo is amazing and I’ve had absolutely no issues with odor!
I also love this one: http://www.piperwai.com/
Piperwai
(Jordan uses it, and wrote about it here!)
BIG disclaimer on this one, though: I have psoriasis on my underarms (I know! ack!) and it’s easily kicked up by anything drying or with small particles. PiperWai is both. It’s too bad because this stuff WORKS– it’s definitely the best I’ve tried. And I can use a small amount every so often without side effects, but if I use too regularly, it irritates my arm pits and, boom!, psoriasis flare.
Here are some other brands to consider:
Soapwalla Deodorant Cream
I know so many people who swear by this, and it’s a really cool, Brooklyn company!
L-web.jpg
(and their sensitive version has magnesium hydroxide, so is much like my combo above: http://meowmeowtweet.com/products/baking-soda-free-deodorant-cream)
IMG_7201.JPG
Haven’t tried this one but the internets are IN LOVE with it. I haven’t tried because it contains raw honey which must be kept away from babies under 1 year in all forms, so I have been holding off. Now that my youngest is over a year, maybe I’ll try it… stay tuned!
2 Comments

Filed under Deodorants, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Big Natural Deodorant Question

  1. Kelly O.

    Thanks! Always good to get an update on these! Not happy that I am still using semi-effective, not as clean Tom’s of Maine. I need to try some of these options.

  2. Stephanie B.

    Thanks for the update- so many great choices out there for natural deo these days! I wanted to add that my two all-time favorites are North Coast Organics Naked deodorant stick (only 4 food-grade, certified organic ingredients, and works great for a solid 12-14 hours) and Primal Pit Paste Unscented “Strong” deo cream (also organic and food grade, works better for summer wear and/or for a 30-hour stretch (no stink, no joke!) — but has extra baking soda, so those with sensitive pits beware). I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

