Favorites from Beauty Counter

Posted by:  Jordan

 

Direct sales beauty companies can sometimes be tricky to navigate finding honest reviews, because you never know if someone is giving an actual honest review, or if they just want to make a sale.  So, here is an honest, unbiased review of a few things I’ve tried from Beauty Counter.

First of all, Beauty Counter isn’t an “all-natural” company, and they don’t claim to be.  What they are is very transparent about their ingredients, which I really appreciate.  They even put their EWG rating right next to each product on their website, as well as an easy-to-find ingredient list (I hate when I have to google through several links to find a product’s ingredient list on various websites!)  I’ve seen some people attack the cleanness of some of the ingredients they use in their products, but Emily and I are firm in our belief that as long as a company isn’t trying to hide something or greenwash their packaging/marketing, it’s ultimately up to the consumer to read what they’re putting on their body (and therefore in their body–remember that our bodies aren’t made of plastic.  We absorb what we put on it, so treat it as you do with food: a little cheating here and there is fine, but try to avoid artificial chemicals, colors, and preservatives as much as you possibly can.)

That all out of the way, here are the 3 highlights I’ve tried and really liked from Beauty Counter and one slight letdown:

Beauty counter Protect All Over Sunscreen

 

Protect All Over SPF 30 Sunscreen

This stuff is EXCELLENT.  A bit pricey (but not ridiculously so), so I don’t actually use it for my whole family; rather, I reserve it as my special sunscreen for my face, chest, and shoulders.  My husband and daughter can have the slightly thicker, cheaper, leaves-a-white-tint kids sunscreen!  Selfish?  Perhaps a little.  But it’s a really nice sunscreen that blends in amazingly well, isn’t greasy, and leaves no tell-tale mineral sunscreen whiteness.  From the company’s website, “Many sunscreens use chemical sun blockers like oxybenzone, which soaks through skin, triggers allergic skin reactions, and may be a hormone disruptor. Protect All Over uses non-nano zinc oxide, which is a safer, effective, natural mineral sunblocker.”  The ingredients are all super pure, and this water-resistant, zinc oxide mineral sunscreen is on EWG’s Top Beach/Sport Sunscreens of 2016 list with a rating of only 1.  Definitely will be buying this as part of my summer beauty routine daily use!

 

 

Beauty counter Any Time Eye Cream Any Time Eye Cream

It’s rare that I really like an eye cream.  To me, they’re all just miniature versions of the same lotion I use on my face.  But what I really love about this eye cream (aside from the amazing scent!) is how it really seems to moisturize while absorbing immediately, so it’s perfect for using in the morning under makeup.

 

 

 

 

Beauty counter uplifting day cream

Uplifting Day Cream

I’m a bit obsessed with Vitamin C in my products, so I love that this day cream includes it.  I wear it over my Vitamin C serum on a day when I won’t be outside much or it’s rainy outside.  Otherwise I’ll wear a moisturizer with SPF.  This lightweight moisturizer is quickly absorbed and smells absolutely incredible.  It makes my skin feel soft and smooth, and is a great primer for powder mineral foundation. A small amount goes a long way with this moisturizer (which is a benefit since it’s not exactly cheap!)

 

 

Beauty counter cleansing balm

 

Countertime Cleansing Balm

This was the product I was most excited to try.  I liked it, but I can’t really rave about it in the same way that others have raved in a natural beauty FB group I follow (maybe they were Beauty Counter consultants who were raving so highly? Maybe I wasn’t using enough?  Who knows!)  Bottom line is, it’s a great cleansing balm that can also be used as a moisturizing mask overnight.  But for $80 I wasn’t exactly blown away.  I wanted to be blown away, so maybe the issue was my expectations were too high.  A great product, but I’ll probably stick with my trusty coconut oil for the same general idea of a makeup remover/moisturizer.

 

So there you have an honest, unbiased review of several products I’ve tried from Beauty Counter!  My highest recommendation goes to the sunscreen–a real knockout of a product that I’ve been searching for in my daily routine!

Leave a comment

Filed under Moisturizers, Sunscreen

Leave a Reply

