Guest Post: DIY Clear Mascara & a New Treatment for Wrinkles and Scars

Posted by:  Jordan

I’m so excited to introduce our first Guest Post from a reader (not just my husband who I begged and pleaded to write a product review).  Reader (and talented writer), Tina, emailed us wanting to share her enthusiasm for natural and homemade cosmetics.  We knew Tina would be a perfect match for us after reading her blog, Smashed Picket Fences.  Tina is such a witty, funny, and honest writer that Emily and I knew immediately we’d love to feature her views on the world of natural beauty with our readers.  So, with that, I’ll let Tina take it away!

When I was a young girl, someone taught me a trick using Vaseline. It was during the clear mascara craze and I was experimenting with different types of make up, but too young to really wear a lot.  The older lady said that if I curled my eyelashes and then put some Vaseline on them it would give it that same “wet” look as clear mascara.I tried it and it became my little secret. People always commented me on my nice long wet looking lashes, begging me for the name of the brand I used. It wasn’t until I was older that I discovered that Vaseline was petroleum and now that I am a natural junkie I can’t quite bring myself to put that anywhere near my face again.

I set out on a quest to make my own Vaseline type product. Through trial and error I finally found a great mixture that has the same consistency as Vaseline and will give your lashes that wet look clear mascaras give, but without all the pesky additives, preservatives, and chemicals.

Ingredients:

  • Beeswax
  • Oil (almond oil, grape seed oil, olive oil, are all good choices)
  • Vitamin E (optional)
  • Baby food jar or other small container


Directions:
Melt one part beeswax to two parts oil in the microwave or over the stove. As soon as the wax is melted mix and pour into a glass or tin container.  Add Vitamin E while the mixture is cooling and off the heat.  Vitamin E is a natural preservative and will help keep the mixture fresh for longer.  Mixture will last for 6 to 9 months. To apply just curl your eyelashes as usual and then put a small amount onto your fingertips and coat your lashes with a thin layer.

If you are looking for good deals on beeswax, oils, or containers I usually find the best deal at Mountain Rose Herbs

But wait, there’s more!!  I also want to share another recent find to Product Junkies Rehab readers: Rosehip seed oil.  This oil has been used in studies to test its properties and it was found that Rosehip seed oil could reduce the appearance of wrinkles and scarring. It is also safe to apply to your face in small amounts. Since the oil is similar to our own sebum in our skin it is less likely to cause breakouts than other products. Rosehip seed oil may sound familiar because it used in a number of natural products on the market. The one caveat to using the oil is it’s recommended not to use on skin with recent or active breakouts.

Thank you to Tina for these wonderful tips!  I just tried a wonderful Rosehip seed oil from Melvita, which you can buy for about $27 on SkinBotanica.  And I’m incredibly anxious to try out this clear mascara recipe to replace my former long-standing fascination with Vaseline.

10 Comments

Filed under DIY Beauty, Natural Beauty Tips

10 responses to “Guest Post: DIY Clear Mascara & a New Treatment for Wrinkles and Scars

  1. Thank you both for the kind words! I had a ton of fun writing for other readers. I hope everyone who braves my recipe has as much fun with it as I did!

    Tina

    PS. I think the link to my site from this post is broken…or it was user error on my part clicking on the link. Just in case – my site addresses is: http://www.smashedpicketfences.com

  2. Jordan

    Weird! Not sure what happened with the link not working, but I fixed it–should be all good now! Keep up the great work with your fantastic blog, Tina! And keep us posted on any new natural beauty tips you have for us!

  3. Pingback: Simple Living News Update

  4. Pingback: Guest Post on Product Junkies Rehab | Smashed Picket Fences

  5. This product works wonders! I really look younger! Super!

  6. khalida k ali

    Hi
    i also enjoy making my own masks and things. i like to make my own mascars,but don’t know where to bu the tubes for it. Do you know where i can buy it from. thanks.

  7. Rita

    Thanx you helpe me so much

  8. Hi, I was wondering where would you find beeswax and what is wrong with putting Vaseline on your eyes so I know not to use it on my eyes again.

Leave a comment